Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content


The top eight finishers in each Grand Prix score points towards both the drivers’ and the constructors’ world championships, according to the following scale:

1st place: 10 points
2nd place: 8 points
3rd place: 6 points
4th place: 5 points
5th place: 4 points
6th place: 3 points
7th place: 2 points
8th place: 1 point

(The only exception to this is when a race is suspended and cannot be restarted. If less than 75 per cent of the race distance has been completed half points are awarded, and if less than two laps have been completed, no points are awarded.)

For example, if in a given race Jenson Button finishes third for Honda and team mate Rubens Barrichello fifth, then Button and Barrichello score six and four points respectively towards the drivers’ championship, while Honda score ten points (six plus four) towards the constructors’ championship.

The driver with the most points at the end of the season is declared drivers’ champion. Similarly the constructor with the most points is declared constructors’ champion.

In the case of a dead heat for a championship place then the driver or team with the higher number of superior race results will be awarded the place. For example, if McLaren and Renault finish the season top of the table on equal points, then the team with the most race wins will be declared champion.

(L to R): Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren, Jean Todt (FRA) Ferrari Sporting Director, Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari and Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren on the podium.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 1, Australian Grand Prix, Race, Albert Park, Melbourne, Australia, Sunday, 18 March 2007 Race winner Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren MP4-22 kisses the trophy on the podium. 
Formula One World Championship, Rd 5, Monaco Grand Prix, Race, Monte-Carlo, Monaco, Sunday, 27 May 2007
Play video