Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

British Grand Prix - facts and figures 16 Jul 2003

The Schumacher brothers lead the field at the tail enders swerve to avoid Allan McNish's (GBR) stricken Toyota TF102.
Formula One World Championship, Rd10, British Grand Prix, Silverstone, England., 7 July 2002

• The British Grand Prix has appeared on the Formula One calendar every year since the start of the world championship back in 1950. Italy is the only other country that can make the same claim.

• Ferrari, Williams and McLaren (in their current guise as McLaren International) all scored their maiden Grand Prix victories in Britain, in 1951, 1979 and 1981 respectively.

• Silverstone is one of three venues to have hosted the British Grand Prix. Aintree near Liverpool staged the race five times between 1955 and 1962, while Brands Hatch in Kent was its home on alternate years between 1964 and 1984.

• The record for most British Grand Prix wins by a driver is five, held jointly by Jim Clark and Alain Prost, with Clark taking victory for four years in succession between 1962 and 1965.

• Britain's Nigel Mansell won his home race on four occasions. More impressively, however, he set the fastest lap of the Grand Prix for seven years in a row between 1986 and 1992. This period included both Brands Hatch and Silverstone races, with Mansell driving for Williams, then Ferrari and then Williams again.

• The 2003 British Grand Prix at Silverstone is scheduled to run for 60 laps, with a total race distance of 308.355km. Back in 1956, however, Juan Manuel Fangio had to complete 101 laps and over 475km before he was shown the chequered flag in his Ferrari, with a race time just 13 seconds shy of three hours.

• The British Grand Prix was the first ever race of the official Formula One World Championship, held on May 13, 1950. The event was an Alfa Romeo whitewash, the Italian cars filling the first three places and Giuseppe Farina taking pole position, the fastest lap and victory.

• Silverstone actually staged two non-championship British Grands Prix prior to 1950. In 1948 Italian driver Luigi Villoresi took victory in a Maserati, while the following year the winner was Switzerland's Emmanuel de Graffenried, also in a Maserati.

• The history of Formula One racing in Britain can be traced back more than three quarters of a century. The Brooklands circuit, with its famous banking, staged the first RAC (Royal Automobile Club) British Grand Prix on August 7, 1926, with Robert Senechal and Louis Wagner sharing victory in their Delage.