Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

British Grand Prix - facts and figures 06 Jul 2007

Damon Hill (GBR) Williams FW16 celebrates his win. British Grand Prix, Silverstone, 10 July 1994. World © Sutton Giuseppe Farina (ITA) Alfa Romeo 159 No. 1, leads eventual race winner Froilan Gonzalez (ARG) Ferrari 375 No. 12 away at the start of the race. The win by Gonzalez was the first for Ferrari in a World Championship Grand Prix. Formula One World Championship, Rd5, British Grand Prix, Silverstone, England, 14 July 1951. Nigel Mansell is surrounded by the British fans. British Grand Prix, Silverstone, 10 July 1988. World © Sutton Race winner Jim Clark (GBR) Lotus-Cosworth 49. British Grand Prix, Silverstone, England, 15 July 1967. World ©  Phipps/Sutton. Winner David Coulthard(GBR) Mclaren MP4-14 British GP, Silverstone, 11 July 1999. World © Sutton

The British Grand Prix weekend is upon us, but just how much do you know about the historic event and its current home of Silverstone?

- On May 13, 1950, Silverstone held the very first round of the newly-incepted Formula One world championship, making the British Grand Prix the oldest race on the calendar. That first race was won by Guiseppe Farina for Alfa Romeo.

- Like fellow British venues Donington Park and Brooklands, the Silverstone circuit started life as an aerodrome. The outer taxiways and interconnecting runways were adopted by the Royal Automobile Club as the home for the British Grand Prix in 1948.

- Ferrari, Williams and McLaren all scored their maiden Grand Prix victories in Britain, in 1951, 1979 and 1981 respectively. In 1997, Williams also secured their 100th Formula One triumph at Silverstone, courtesy of Jacques Villeneuve.

- Sixty-seven percent of Silverstone is driven at full throttle and drivers make an average of 34 gearshifts per lap.

- British racing legend Stirling Moss can claim to have scored the most career milestones during the British Grand Prix. Moss clinched not only his first fastest lap during the 1954 event, but a year later his debut pole position and his first race win.

- Aside from Moss, Nino Farina (1950), Jose Froilan Gonzalez (1951), Tony Brooks (1957, Jo Siffert (1968), Peter Revson (1973) and Johnny Herbert (1995) all recorded their first Formula One victories at the British race.

- Silverstone is one of three venues to have hosted the British Grand Prix since 1950. Aintree near Liverpool staged the race five times between 1955 and 1962, while Brands Hatch in Kent was its home on alternate years between 1964 and 1984.

- Britain’s very own Jim Clark remains the British Grand Prix’s most successful driver. Clark recorded five consecutive pole positions and wins from 1962-67. Although Alain Prost also won five times, the Frenchman only started from pole once, in 1993.

- England is home to seven of the 11 teams, which will compete in the British Grand Prix on Sunday. McLaren, Williams, Red Bull, Renault, Spyker, Honda and Super Aguri are all - in full or in part - based on British soil.

- Ten Britons have won the British Grand Prix - Stirling Moss, Peter Collins, Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart, James Hunt, John Watson, Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill, Johnny Herbert and David Coulthard.

- Four-time British Grand Prix winner Nigel Mansell retains the record of scoring the most fastest laps during the event. He did it seven years in a row between 1986 and 1992. Impressively, this period included both Brands Hatch and Silverstone races, with Mansell driving for Williams, then Ferrari and then Williams again.