Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Tuesday's testing to mark true start of 2012 season 06 Feb 2012

Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Lotus E20 first run.
Formula One Testing, Preparations, Jerez, Spain,  Monday, 6 February 2012 Kamui Kobayashi (JPN) Sauber C31 first run.
Formula One Testing, Preparations, Jerez, Spain,  Monday, 6 February 2012 Jenson Button (GBR).
Formula One Testing, Preparations, Jerez, Spain,  Monday, 6 February 2012 Paul di Resta (GBR) Force India VJM05 in the garage.
Sahara Force India VJM05 First Run, Silverstone, England, Friday, 3 February 2012

Tuesday sees the commencement of 2012’s pre-season testing, with a four-day session at Jerez, where nine of the 12 Formula One teams will have their new cars running in anger for the first time. It will be followed by a further three similar tests in Spain ahead the Australian Grand Prix on March 18.

The 2012 machines in action this week will be the Red Bull RB8, McLaren MP4-27, Ferrari F2012, Lotus E20, Force India VJM05, Sauber C31, Toro Rosso STR7, Williams FW34 and Caterham CT01.

Mercedes have bucked the trend among the frontrunners, opting to run their 2011 car this week and focus on work with Pirelli’s revised 2012 tyres. The new machine from Ross Brawn’s team is expected to instead debut at the second test in Barcelona, starting February 21.

Marussia have decided to miss the first test completely as they continue work on the new MR01 at their Banbury factory. The Russian-owned team are expected to run last season’s car at the second test and hope to get their 2012 car on track at the third, which starts in Barcelona on March 1.

All teams this week will, for the first time, be running Pirelli’s new 2012 tyres, which this year are much ‘squarer’ in order to provide a greater contact patch and deliver a longer period of peak performance, while maintaining an overall lifespan in the region of 100 kilometres.

The tyres have been designed to provide more grip at the rear of the car, following the latest changes in the aerodynamic regulations that effectively ban exhaust-blown diffusers.

Check back throughout the week for the latest news and images from Jerez.

This week’s driver line-up - subject to change (Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri):
Red Bull - Webber, Webber, Vettel, Vettel
McLaren - Button, Button, Hamilton, Hamilton
Ferrari - Massa, Massa, Alonso, Alonso
Mercedes - Rosberg/Schumacher, Schumacher, Rosberg, N/A
Force India - Di Resta, Di Resta, Hulkenberg, Hulkenberg
Lotus - Raikkonen, Raikkonen, Grosjean, Grosjean
Sauber - Kobayashi, Perez, Perez, Kobayashi
Toro Rosso - Ricciardo, Ricciardo, Vergne, Vergne
Williams - Maldonado, Maldonado, Senna, Senna
Caterham - Kovalainen, Kovalainen, Van der Garde, Trulli
HRT - De la Rosa, De la Rosa, N/A, N/A

For tickets and travel to 2012 Formula One races, click here.
For Formula One and F1 team merchandise, click here.