Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

The Brazilian Grand Prix - did you know? 21 Nov 2013

Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Force India F1 VJM05 leads the race.
Formula One World Championship, Rd20 Brazilian Grand Prix, Race, Sao Paulo, Brazil, 25 November 2012 Bust of former racing driver Carlos Pace (BRA) after who the circuit is named. 
Formula One World Championship, Rd 18, Brazilian Grand Prix, Race Day, Interlagos, Sao Paulo, Brazil, Sunday, 2 November 2008 Emerson Fittipaldi (BRA) Lotus 72D crosses the line to become winner of the first Brazilian GP; cheered on at trackside in traditional manner by Colin Chapman (GBR) Lotus Team Owner. Brazilian Grand Prix, Interlagos, 11 February 1973. World ©  Phipps/Sutton. Race winner Ayrton Senna celebrates on the podium. Brazilian Grand Prix, Interlagos, 24 March 1991 Race winner Mika Hakkinen (FIN) McLaren Mercedes MP4/13. Formula One World Championship, Rd2, Brazilian Grand Prix, Interlagos, Brazil, 29 March 1998. World © Sutton. Race winner Felipe Massa (BRA) Ferrari F2008 leads at the start of the race.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 18, Brazilian Grand Prix, Race, Interlagos, Sao Paulo, Brazil, Sunday, 2 November 2008 (L to R): Giancarlo Fisichella (ITA) Jordan recieves the winners trophy from the Brazilian GP from Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) McLaren.
Formula One World Championship, Rd4, San Marino Grand Prix, Imola, Italy, 18 April 2003 Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren.
Formula One World Championship, Rd18, United States Grand Prix, Preparations, Austin, Texas, USA, Thursday, 14 November 2013 Juan Pablo Montoya gets sideways on his way to victory in the 2004 Brazilian Grand Prix Race winner Rene Arnoux (FRA) Renault. Brazilian Grand Prix, Rd2, Interlagos, Brazil. 27 January 1980

Did you know that Sao Paulo boasts the second shortest track on the calendar, or that five Brazilian racers have been victorious on home soil? Ahead of the Formula 1 Grande Premio Petrobras do Brasil 2013, we bring you some of the most interesting facts and figures about the race…

• This year’s race is the 41st in Brazilian Grand Prix history. Of the previous 40, 30 have been held at Interlagos and 10 at Jacarepagua in Rio de Janiero.

• The Interlagos circuit is also known as the Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace in honour of 1975 race winner Carlos Pace. Read all about his emotional win here.

• The inaugural Brazilian Grand Prix was held at Interlagos in February 1973. Appropriately enough the race was won by a Brazilian - Emerson Fittipaldi in a Lotus.

• The original Interlagos layout was 7.960 kilometres long. Since 1990 the race has been run on the shortened version of the circuit which is, after one or two adjustments, now 4.309 kilometres long. That makes it the second shortest circuit on the calendar after Monaco.

• Interlagos is one of five completely anticlockwise circuits on the 2013 calendar (The others are Singapore, Korea, Abu Dhabi and the United States (with its figure of eight layout, you could argue that Suzuka runs both clockwise and anticlockwise).

• Brazil has produced 30 drivers who have started at least one Grand Prix. Of the 30, three have won the drivers’ title (Emerson Fittipaldi, Nelson Piquet, Ayrton Senna) and six (or 20 percent) have won races (Fittipaldi, Senna, Piquet, Carlos Pace, Rubens Barrichello and Felipe Massa). Rubens Barrichello is the only one of the six Brazilian race winners not to have won his home Grand Prix.

• All five of the world champions that have competed in the 2013 season - Fernando Alonso, Kimi Raikkonen, Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button and Sebastian Vettel - have clinched the title in Brazil (in Vettel’s case, he’s also done so in Abu Dhabi, Japan and India).

• Alain Prost is the most successful driver in Brazilian Grand Prix history, having won six races in the country. Of the current grid, Felipe Massa and Mark Webber each have two wins at Interlagos; Kimi Raikkonen, Sebastian Vettel and Jenson Button all have one.

• Both Lewis Hamilton and Fernando Alonso are yet to win in Brazil. Both men clinched their world championship(s) in Brazil and in Alonso’s case he has stood on the Interlagos podium seven times in total. The only other venues on the calendar that the Spaniard has not won at are Austin, Yas Marina, Spa-Francorchamps and New Delhi. For Hamilton it’s Kuala Lumpur, Sakhir, Barcelona, Yeongam and Suzuka.

• In terms of manufacturers, McLaren have the most wins in Brazil with 12 to Ferrari’s 10, although Red Bull have won three of the last four races at Interlagos.

• Ayrton Senna holds the record for most Brazilian Grand Prix pole positions with six, including four in a row from 1988 to 1991. Brazil’s current top driver, Felipe Massa, has the most of the active drivers with three.

• Massa has led the most laps of any current driver in Brazil - 183 in total. That puts him behind only Michael Schumacher (236) and Alain Prost (235) in terms of laps led in Brazil.

• In the 40 previous Brazilian Grands Prix, the pole position holder has won just 11 times (27.5 percent). Looking specifically at Interlagos, things are slightly better for the polesitter - the record is 10 wins from pole in 30 races (33 percent).

• The furthest back any driver has won from at Interlagos is eighth. That was in the controversial 2003 race which was (eventually) won by Giancarlo Fisichella after red flags ended the race prematurely. Fisichella had originally been awarded second place, but several days later - after reviewing timing data - race officials declared the Italian the winner on countback. Kimi Raikkonen - who'd orginally been declared the winner - presented Fischella with his trophy at the following race in San Marino.

• The United States Grand Prix was Jenson Button’s 246th Grand Prix, drawing him level with David Coulthard for the most Grands Prix by a British driver. Button will make the record his own in Brazil.

• At the last round in Austin, Vettel took his eighth consecutive victory and his 12th overall this season. If he wins in Brazil he’ll equal Michael Schumacher’s record of 13 victories in one season, set in 2004.

• The lap record for Interlagos is held by Colombian F1 hero Juan Pablo Montoya. It stands at 1m 11.473s and was set in 2004 when Montoya drove for Williams.

• Of the last ten races in Brazil, seven have featured the safety car. Across those seven races the safety car was deployed 12 times.

• According to Mercedes, the drivers are on full throttle for 70 percent of the lap distance. The longest time at full throttle is 16 seconds from the exit of Juncao (Turn 12) to Turn 1. Drivers make an average of 42 gear changes per lap, which equates to 2,982 gear changes over the 71-lap race.

• And finally, a number of milestones have taken place in Brazil:

- Carlos Pace, Rene Arnoux and Giancarlo Fisichella all scored their first wins in Brazil, in 1975, 1980 and 2003 respectively.

- Jody Scheckter celebrated his 100th F1 start in Brazil in 1980; Derek Warwick did the same in 1989.

- Nick Heidfeld’s 150th start came in 2008 in Sao Paulo.

- Michael Schumacher scored his 100th podium finish at Interlagos in 2002.

- Ayrton Senna’s 1993 win in Brazil was McLaren’s 100th victory.

For tickets and travel to 2013 FORMULA 1 races, click here.
For FORMULA 1 merchandise, click here.