Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

The Spanish Grand Prix - did you know? 07 May 2013

Fernando Alonso (ESP) Ferrari F2012 and Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Williams FW34 battle at the start of the race.
Formula One World Championship, Rd5, Spanish Grand Prix, Race Day, Barcelona, Spain, Sunday, 13 May 2012 Graham Hill (GBR) Lotus 49 was the race winner for a team reeling from the death of Jim Clark (GBR) just a month earlier. The sponsorship from Gold Leaf and their red and white colour scheme was a first in Formula One. Spanish Grand Prix, Jarama, 12 May 1968. World © Phipps/Sutton Podium and results; 1st Jackie Stewart (GBR), Matra, centre. 2nd Bruce McLaren (NZL), McLaren, right. 3rd Jean-Pierre Beltoise (FRA), Matra, left. Spanish Grand Prix, Rd2, Montjuich Park, Spain. 4 May 1969. World ©  Phipps/Sutton. Emerson Fittipaldi (BRA) Lotus 72D, who took his first victory of the season, passes through the Firestone bridge. Spanish Grand Prix, Jarama, 1 May 1972. World © Phipps/Sutton (L to R): Jackie Stewart (GBR) Tyrrell 006, who retired with brake failure on lap 48, and his team mate Francois Cevert (FRA) Tyrrell 006/2, who finished second, head off on the warm-up lap after qualifying fourth and third respectively. Spanish Grand Pri Jochen Mass (GER) McLaren M23 steered clear of the chaos around him to claim his first Grand Prix victory and the first winner of a 'half' Grand Prix, as the race was declared a result at less than two-thirds distance and half points were awarded. Spanish James Hunt (GBR) McLaren M23, who won the race, but was then disqualified for a technical infringement, only to be reinstated as the race winner three months later after an appeal, prepares to leave the pits during practice. Teddy Mayer (USA) McLaren Team Gilles Villeneuve leads the pack. The first five would finish within 1.24 seconds Spanish Grand Prix, Jarama, 1981. World © PHIPPS/SUTTON Race winner Ayrton Senna (BRA) Lotus 98T (left) beats Nigel Mansell (GBR) Williams FW11 by 0.014s - one of the closest finishes of all time. Spanish Grand Prix, Jerez, 13 April 1986. Damon Hill celebrates on the podium with Michael Schumacher and Mark Blundell, right Spanish GP, Barcelona, 29 May 1994. World © Sutton The start of the race and Michael Schumacher (GER) Ferrari holds the lead ahead of his brother Ralf Schumacher (GER) Williams BMW FW24 and Juan Pablo Montoya (COL) Williams BMW FW24.
Formula One World Championship, Rd5, Spanish Grand Prix, Circuit de Cata Podium (L to R): Second place Felipe Massa (BRA) Ferrari, Stefano Domenicali (ITA) Ferrari Manager of F1 Operations, race winner Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari and third place Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mclaren. 
Formula One World Championship, Rd 4, Spanish Gra

The Circuit de Catalunya in Barcelona is one of five tracks to have hosted the Spanish Grand Prix and this year it does so for the 23rd time. Ahead of this weekend’s race, we look back at the other four Spanish F1 venues, as well as providing a plethora of further interesting facts…

• The first Spanish Grand Prix was held in 1951 on the Pedralbes street circuit in Barcelona. The race has subsequently been held at Barcelona’s Montjuich Park (four times), Jerez (five times) and Jarama (nine times) before moving to the Circuit de Catalunya in 1991, where it has remained ever since.

• The introduction of a chicane at the end of the lap ahead of the 2007 race reduced the length of the circuit by nearly 100 metres.

• Ferrari are the most successful constructor in Spanish Grand Prix history, having won the race on 11 occasions and taken 21 other podiums. Seven of the Scuderia’s wins have come since the race moved to the Circuit de Catalunya. Williams are the next most successful constructor at the 2013 venue, having won the race six times there, most recently last year with Pastor Maldonado.

• Michael Schumacher has won the Spanish Grand Prix a record six times, all at the Circuit de Catalunya and all, bar one, with Ferrari (the other was with Benetton in 1995). Four drivers have three Spanish victories to their name - Jackie Stewart, Nigel Mansell, Alain Prost and Mika Hakkinen. Perhaps unsurprisingly, Schumacher is the all-time lap leader in Spanish Grand Prix history from Mansell, Stewart, Hakkinen and Prost.

• Of the current grid, Fernando Alonso has the most podiums - six - although Kimi Raikkonen has the most wins in Spain - two. Six other current drivers have won the Spanish Grand Prix once - Alonso, Felipe Massa, Jenson Button, Mark Webber, Sebastian Vettel and Pastor Maldonado. Lewis Hamilton has never won in Barcelona, despite leading races there on three occasions.

• Aside from the five 2013 rookies, the only members of the current grid not to score at least one point from a Spanish Grand Prix are Paul di Resta, Charles Pic, Daniel Ricciardo and Jean-Eric Vergne.

• The Spanish Grand Prix has played host to a number of important milestones:

- Ferrari and Lotus both recorded their 50th Formula One wins in Spain. Tyrrell won their first race as a constructor in Spain in 1971 with Jackie Stewart.

- Jacques Laffite, Keke Rosberg and Jarno Trulli all started their 100th races in Spain. Rubens Barrichello made his 200th Formula One start at the 2005 Spanish Grand Prix and Mika Hakkinen his 150th in 2001.

- Last year, Pastor Maldonado became only the third driver to take his maiden F1 win at the Spanish Grand Prix. The other two were Niki Lauda (in 1974) and Jochen Mass (in 1975). Maldonado also scored his first pole in Spain, as did Chris Amon (in 1968).

- Several drivers stepped onto an F1 podium for the first time at the Spanish Grand Prix - Luigi Musso (in 1954), Brian Redman (in 1968), Mario Andretti (in 1970), George Follmer (in 1973), Gunnar Nilsson (in 1976), Johnny Herbert (in 1995), Juan Pablo Montoya (in 2001) and Pastor Maldonado (in 2012).

- Lotus’s Romain Grosjean scored his maiden F1 fastest lap in Spain last year.

• Kimi Raikkonen holds the lap record for the Circuit de Catalunya in its current configuration - 1m 21.670s set in 2008 in a Ferrari.

• Since the race moved to the Circuit de Catalunya in 1991 it has been won from pole position 17 times. The most recent pole-to-flag winner was Maldonado last year. Michael Schumacher won the race from pole on four consecutive occasions for Ferrari between 2001 and 2004.

• Fernando Alonso will be the only ‘home’ driver on the grid in Spain this year. He is one of 11 Spaniards to have started a Formula One race, but the only one to have won one.

• The Circuit de Catalunya is a track that the majority of drivers know very well as it has been a popular testing destination since it opened in 1991. Of the current grid, no one has logged more laps of the circuit in testing than Jenson Button - nearly 7,500.

• The distance from the start line to the first corner at the Circuit de Catalunya is 730 metres - the longest of any track on the calendar.

• According to Mercedes, the past two Spanish Grands Prix have featured 140 overtakes (57 in 2012 and 82 in 2011). Strangely, the 2011 and 2012 races combined for exactly the same amount of pit stops - 140 (75 in 2012 and 65 in 2011).

• The biggest winning margin in a Grand Prix at the Circuit de Catalunya was in 1995 when Michael Schumacher led home Benetton team mate Johnny Herbert by 51.988 seconds. The smallest winning margin came in 2011 when Sebastian Vettel pipped Lewis Hamilton by just 0.630 seconds.

• McLaren and Ferrari extended their runs of consecutive points finishes to 62 and 52 respectively in Bahrain.

• Should he finish in the top ten in Spain this weekend, Kimi Raikkonen will achieve his 22nd consecutive points-scoring result, putting him just two away from equalling Michael Schumacher’s record of 24. For the record, the Finn has recorded points finishes in four of the ten Spanish Grands Prix he’s started…

For tickets and travel to 2013 FORMULA 1 races, click here.
For FORMULA 1 and F1 team merchandise, click here.