Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

The Canadian Grand Prix - did you know? 05 Jun 2013

Race winner Jack Brabham (AUS) Brabham BT24. Canadian GP, Mosport Park, 27 Aug 1967. Denny Hulme (NZL), McLaren M7A, won the race after starting from 6th on the grid. Canadian Grand Prix, Rd10, Mont-Tremblant, Canada. 22 September 1968. World © Phipps/Sutton The Canadian fans watch the action.
Canadian Grand Prix, Rd8, Montreal, Canada., 9 June 2002 Gilles Villeneuve (CDN) Ferrari 312T3 took his maiden GP victory in his home GP. Canadian Grand Prix, Rd 16, Montreal, Canada, 8 October 1978. World ©  Phipps/Sutton Jacques Villeneuve (CDN) BMW Sauber F1.06.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 9, Canadian Grand Prix, Qualifying Day, Montreal, Canada, 24 June 2006 Michael Schumacher (GER) Ferrari F2002, takes the 150th GP victory for the Ferrari team.
Formula One World Championship, Rd8, Canadian Grand Prix, Montreal, Canada., 9 June 2002 Alex Wurz (AUT) Williams celebrates his third position on the podium.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 6, Canadian Grand Prix, Race, Montreal, Canada, Sunday, 10 June 2007 Jean Alesi (FRA) Ferrari celebrates his only victory in Formula One whilst being given a lift back to the pits by Michael Schumacher (GER) Benetton B195. Canadian Grand Prix, Montreal, 11 June 1995. Adrian Sutil (GER) Force India VJM06.
Formula One World Championship, Rd6, Monaco Grand Prix, Qualifying Day, Monte-Carlo, Monaco, Saturday, 25 May 2013 Rene Arnoux (Ferrari 126C2B) 1st position, Montreal, Canada. 10-12 June 1983 Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Lotus F1.
Formula One World Championship, Rd5, Spanish Grand Prix, Qualifying, Barcelona, Spain, Saturday, 11 May 2013

Did you know that the last Austrian driver to stand on a Formula One podium did so in Canada? Or that Canada staged the longest Grand Prix in history? Or that this year’s event will be Force India’s 100th race under that name? For the Austrian’s identity, the year of the four-hour epic, and more fascinating facts about F1 racing in Canada, read on…

• Three venues have hosted the Canadian Grand Prix in its 43-race history - Mosport (eight times), Mont-Tremblant (twice) and Montreal (33 times). The first world championship race in Canada was held at Mosport in 1967 and won by Jack Brabham in his eponymous BT24.

• Eleven Canadians have started a world championship Grand Prix, but only one has won his home race - Gilles Villeneuve at Montreal in 1978. It was also his first F1 win (see Flashback: Canada ‘78 - Villeneuve scores fairy-tale maiden win).

• The Montreal circuit was originally called Ile Notre-Dame Circuit but was renamed Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve in 1982 following the Canadian driver’s death.

• Taking on average 75 seconds to complete, the Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve has the quickest lap time on the calendar.

• At 4.361 kilometres, the current track is 139 metres shorter than the original 1978 layout.

• There will be no ‘home’ drivers on the grid in Canada this year. The last Canadian to start a Grand Prix was Jacques Villeneuve - Gilles’ son - in Germany in 2006.

• In the 33 previous races at Montreal, the polesitter has been victorious only 14 times. The lowest any winner has started on the grid is 10th - that was Ligier’s Jacques Laffite in 1981.

• McLaren have scored the most wins of any team in Canadian Grand Prix history - 13 - but Ferrari have a 10-9 edge over McLaren when it comes to races in Montreal. However, McLaren have won the last three races at the Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve.

• When it comes to the manufacturer with the most podium places in Canada, Ferrari have a marginal edge over their rivals McLaren - 31 to 29.

• Surprisingly, given their recent domination, Red Bull have never won at Montreal and have only scored three podiums in Canada, making it statistically one of their worst races.

• Michael Schumacher is by far and away the most successful driver in Canadian Grand Prix history. The German won the race a record seven times and reached the podium on five other occasions.

• Of the current grid, Lewis Hamilton is the master of Montreal, though it has been a case of win or bust. The Mercedes driver has started five races in Canada, winning three times (2007, 2010, 2012) and retiring twice (2008, 2011). Kimi Raikkonen, Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button have each won the race once, with Button's victory remarkably achieved despite having led just one lap during his 12 Canadian Grand Prix appearances.

• Canada holds the distinction of hosting the longest Grand Prix of all time - the 2011 Canadian Grand Prix which lasted 4h 4m 39.537s and included a two-hour rain delay. It was eventually won in dramatic style by Jenson Button.

• The last Austrian to make it to a Formula One podium did so in Canada in 2007 - Alex Wurz driving for Williams.

• The Canadian Grand Prix has witnessed a number of milestones:

- Jackie Stewart scored his first Grand Prix pole in Canada in 1970. Peter Revson scored his and McLaren’s first pole two years later in 1972.

- Five drivers have scored their debut wins in Canada: Gilles Villeneuve (1978), Thierry Boutsen (1989), Jean Alesi (1995), Lewis Hamilton (2007) and Robert Kubica (2008).

- Four drivers all stepped onto the podium for the first time in Canada: Mark Donahue (1971), Stefan Johansson (1985), Eddie Irvine (1995) and Giancarlo Fisichella (1997).

- Several drivers have hit race start milestones in Canada. Niki Lauda and Carlos Reutemann both started their 100th races here in 1978, Philippe Alliot started his 100th race here in 1993, Andrea de Cesaris and Pierluigi Martini celebrated 200 and 100 races respectively in 1994, Martin Brundle started his 150th race here in 1996 and Mika Salo his 100th in 2002.

- Michael Schumacher scored Ferrari’s 150th Formula One win in Montreal in 2002.

• Rubens Barrichello holds the lap record for the Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve in its current configuration - 1m 13.622s set in 2004 in a Ferrari.

• This year’s race will be the 100th time the Force India team has raced under that moniker. The squad has been known by three other names - Jordan, Midland and Spyker.

• The safety car has been deployed at least once in five of the last nine races in Canada.

• According to Mercedes, drivers are at full throttle for approximately 72 percent of the lap distance in Canada with the longest period of full throttle 13.5s. Each driver will make 50 gear changes per lap, which equates to 3,500 over the 70-lap race distance.

• The biggest winning margin in a Grand Prix at Montreal was in 1983 when Ferrari’s Rene Arnoux crossed the line 42.029s ahead of Renault’s Eddie Cheever. The smallest winning margin came in 2000 when Michael Schumacher beat Ferrari team mate Rubens Barrichello across the line by just 0.174s.

• After extending their runs of consecutive points finishes to 64 (a record) and 54 respectively at the last round in Monaco, McLaren and Ferrari will look to continue the trend in Montreal this weekend.

• Kimi Raikkonen’s last-lap pass of Nico Hulkenberg in Monaco gave the Finn more than just one point for tenth place. It also extended his points-scoring streak to 23 races. Should he finish in the top ten in Canada this weekend, Raikkonen will equal Michael Schumacher’s record of 24 consecutive races in the points.

For tickets and travel to 2013 FORMULA 1 races, click here.
For FORMULA 1 and F1 team merchandise, click here.