Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Vital Statistics - the Malaysian Grand Prix 26 Mar 2014

Sepang Circuit, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Juan Pablo Montoya (COL) Williams BMW FW26.
Malaysian Grand Prix, Rd 2, Sepang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 19 March 2004 Winner Eddie Irvine(GBR) Ferrari F399 passes his pit Malaysian GP, Sepang, 17 October 1999. World © Sutton
Safety car leads the field.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 2, Malaysian Grand Prix, Race, Sepang, Malaysia, Sunday, 25  March 2012 (L to R): Mark Webber (AUS) Red Bull Racing, Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull Racing and Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes AMG F1 celebrate on the podium.
Formula One World Championship, Rd2, Malaysian Grand Prix, Race, Sepang, Malaysia, Sunday, 24 March 2013 Race winner Michael Schumacher (GER) Ferrari celebrates in Parc Ferme.
Malaysian Grand Prix, Race Day, Rd 2, Sepang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 21 March 2004 Race winner Fernando Alonso (ESP) Ferrari F2012 celebrates in parc ferme.
Formula One World Championship, Rd2, Malaysian Grand Prix, Race, Sepang, Malaysia, Sunday, 25 March 2012 Alex Yoong (MAL) Minardi Ps02 qualified twenty-second in his home race. Malaysian Grand Prix, Sepang Circuit, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. 16 March 2002

This year sees Malaysia stage a Grand Prix for the 16th consecutive season, but which teams and drivers have performed best in the heat and humidity of Kuala Lumpur? And which former Williams star holds the lap record? Ahead of the 2014 Formula 1 Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix at Sepang, we highlight all the important statistics, facts and figures about this popular race…

Circuit: Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur

Circuit length: 5.543 km

Number of corners: 15 (5 left, 10 right)

DRS zones: 2

Race laps: 56

Race distance: 310.408 km

2014 tyre compounds: Hard, Medium

Circuit lap record: 1m 34.223s - Juan Pablo Montoya (2004), Williams-BMW

First world championship Grand Prix: 1999, Kuala Lumpur (won by Eddie Irvine, Ferrari)

Number of races: 15 (all in Kuala Lumpur)

Number of races with at least one safety car appearance: Four

Longest race: 2012 (2h 44m 51.812s)

Shortest race: 2009 (55m 30.622s)

Last year’s pole position: 1m 49.674s, Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull-Renault

Last year’s podium: 1 - Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull), 2 - Mark Webber (Red Bull), 3 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

Most appearances (current field): 14 - Jenson Button; 12 - Fernando Alonso; 11 - Kimi Raikkonen, Felipe Massa; 8 - Nico Rosberg; 7 - Lewis Hamilton

Most wins (driver): 3 - Michael Schumacher, Fernando Alonso, Sebastian Vettel; 2 - Kimi Raikkonen; 1 - Eddie Irvine, Ralf Schumacher, Giancarlo Fisichella, Jenson Button

Most wins (team): 6 - Ferrari; 3 - Red Bull; 2 - Renault, McLaren; 1 - Williams, Brawn

Most wins (engine manufacturer): 6 - Ferrari; 5 - Renault; 3 - Mercedes; 1 -BMW

Most pole positions (driver): 5 - Michael Schumacher; 2 - Fernando Alonso, Sebastian Vettel, Felipe Massa; 1 - Giancarlo Fisichella, Jenson Button, Lewis Hamilton, Mark Webber

Most pole positions (team): 7 - Ferrari; 3 - Red Bull, Renault; 1 - Brawn, McLaren

Most pole positions (engine manufacturer): 7 - Ferrari; 6 - Renault; 2 - Mercedes

Number of wins from pole: 8 wins from 15 races (53.3 percent)

Lowest winning grid position: 8th (Fernando Alonso, 2012)

Laps led (current field): 169 - Fernando Alonso; 129 - Sebastian Vettel; 75 - Kimi Raikkonen; 18 - Jenson Button; 16 - Felipe Massa, Nico Rosberg; 15 - Lewis Hamilton; 4 - Sergio Perez

Most podium places (current field): 5 - Fernando Alonso; 4 - Jenson Button; 3 - Kimi Raikkonen, Sebastian Vettel, Lewis Hamilton; 1 - Nico Rosberg, Sergio Perez

Number of Malaysians to have started an F1 Grand Prix: 1

Best finish by a Malaysian in Malaysia: DNF (Alex Yoong, Minardi, 2002)

For tickets and travel to 2014 FORMULA 1 races, click here.
For FORMULA 1 merchandise, click here.