Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Vital Statistics - the Bahrain Grand Prix 02 Apr 2014

Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India VJM07.
Formula One Testing, Day Two, Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir, Bahrain, Friday, 28 February 2014 The Bahrain International Circuit from above, 2004 Pirelli tyres.
Formula One World Championship, Rd3, Bahrain Grand Prix, Preparations, Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir, Bahrain, Wednesday, 2 April 2014 Pedro de la Rosa (ESP) McLaren Mercedes MP4/20.
Formula One World Championship, Rd3, Bahrain Grand Prix, First Qualifying, Bahrain International Circuit, Bahrain, 2 April 2005 Race winner Michael Schumacher (GER) Ferrari celebrates on the podium.
Formula One World Championship, Rd3, Bahrain Grand Prix, Race Day, Bahrain International Circuit, Bahrain, 4 April 2004 Race winner Jenson Button (GBR) Brawn Grand Prix BGP 001 celebrates with the team at the end of the race.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 4, Bahrain Grand Prix, Race Day, Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir, Bahrain, Sunday, 26 April 2009 Fernando Alonso (ESP) Renault celebrates his victory with the team.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 1, Bahrain Grand Prix, Race, Bahrain International Circuit, Bahrain, 12 March 2006

This year sees Bahrain celebrate its tenth appearance on the F1 calendar with its very first night race, but which teams and drivers have performed best amid the desert sands of Sakhir? Ahead of the 2014 Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix, we highlight all the important statistics, facts and figures about this challenging race…

Circuit: Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir

Circuit length: 5.412 km

Number of corners: 15 (6 left, 9 right)

DRS zones: 2

Race laps: 57

Race distance: 308.238 km

2014 tyre compounds: Medium, Soft

Circuit lap record: 1m 31.447s - Pedro de la Rosa (2005), McLaren-Mercedes

First world championship Grand Prix: 2004, Sakhir (won by Michael Schumacher, Ferrari)

Number of races: 9 (all in Sakhir)

Number of races with at least one safety car appearance: One

Longest race: 2010 (1h 39m 20.396s)

Shortest race: 2004 (1h 28m 34.875s)

Last year’s pole position: 1m 32.330s, Nico Rosberg, Mercedes

Last year’s podium: 1 - Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull), 2 - Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus), 3 - Romain Grosjean (Lotus)

Most appearances (current field): 9 - Fernando Alonso, Jenson Button, Felipe Massa; 8 - Kimi Raikkonen; 7 - Nico Rosberg; 6 - Lewis Hamilton; 5 - Adrian Sutil, Sebastian Vettel

Most wins (driver): 3 - Fernando Alonso; 2 - Felipe Massa, Sebastian Vettel; 1 - Michael Schumacher, Jenson Button

Most wins (team): 4 - Ferrari; 2 - Renault, Red Bull; 1 - Brawn

Most wins (engine manufacturer): 4 - Ferrari, Renault; 1 - Mercedes

Most pole positions (driver): 2 - Michael Schumacher, Sebastian Vettel; 1 - Fernando Alonso, Felipe Massa, Robert Kubica, Jarno Trulli, Nico Rosberg

Most pole positions (team): 3 - Ferrari; 2 - Red Bull; 1 - Renault, BMW Sauber, Toyota, Mercedes

Most pole positions (engine manufacturer): 3 - Ferrari, Renault; 1 - BMW, Toyota, Mercedes

Number of wins from pole: 4 wins from 9 races (44.4 percent)

Lowest winning grid position: 4th (Fernando Alonso, 2006; Jenson Button 2009)

Laps led (current field): 146 - Sebastian Vettel; 102 - Felipe Massa; 96 - Fernando Alonso; 38 - Jenson Button; 5 - Kimi Raikkonen; 4 - Lewis Hamilton; 2 - Nico Rosberg; 1 - Romain Grosjean

Most podium places (current field): 6 - Kimi Raikkonen; 3 - Felipe Massa, Fernando Alonso, Sebastian Vettel; 2 - Jenson Button, Lewis Hamilton, Romain Grosjean

Landmark achievement: The Bahrain race will be Jenson Button’s 250th Grand Prix start - the most of any driver on the grid

For tickets and travel to 2014 FORMULA 1 races, click here.
For FORMULA 1 merchandise, click here.