Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

FIA release 2004 Formula One calendar 11 Sep 2003

The FIA has released the dates and venues for the 2004 Formula One World Championship. Bahrain and China are added to the schedule as expected, with Belgium also making a welcome return to form an 18-race season.

The 2004 campaign will open as usual with the Australian and Malaysian rounds, before the inaugural Grand Prix of Bahrain on April 4. The Brazilian race moves to October 24 as the season finale.

Imola will host the first European round of the year, the San Marino Grand Prix on April 25, while the United States Grand Prix switches to a mid-summer slot on June 20, forming a north-American double-header with the Canada on June 13.

Spa will host the returning Belgian Grand Prix on August 29, ahead of the final European round at Monza. The season culminates with three fly-away races, the first of which will be the Grand Prix of China in Shanghai on September 26.

The full calendar is as follows:

March 7, Grand Prix of Australia (Melbourne)
March 21, Grand Prix of Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur)
April 4, Grand Prix of Bahrain (Bahrain)
April 25, Grand Prix of San Marino (Imola)
May 9, Grand Prix of Spain (Barcelona)
May 23, Grand Prix of Monaco (Monaco)
May 30, Grand Prix of Europe (Nurburgring)
June 13, Grand Prix of Canada (Montreal)
June 20, Grand Prix of USA (Indianapolis)
July 4, Grand Prix of France (Magny-Cours)
July 11, Grand Prix of Great Britain (Silverstone)
July 25, Grand Prix of Germany (Hockenheim)
August 15, Grand Prix of Hungary (Budapest)
August 29, Grand Prix of Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)
September 12, Grand Prix of Italy (Monza)
September 26, Grand Prix of China (Shanghai)
October 10, Grand Prix of Japan (Suzuka)
October 24, Grand Prix of Brazil (Sao Paulo)