Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

FIA announces 2006 Formula One calendar 26 Oct 2005

Formula One racing’s governing body, the FIA, has released details of a 19-race calendar for the 2006 season, with the status of all but the Brazilian Grand Prix confirmed.

The championship will start in Bahrain, with Australia moved from its traditional season-opening slot to April due to a clash with March’s Commonwealth Games in Melbourne.

As usual, San Marino hosts the first round of the European season, with Europe and Britain both brought forward - the former by three weeks to the start of May and the latter by a month to the middle of June. The only other significant change is Brazil shifting from its late September slot this year to that of season finale, a position it previously held in 2004.

The calendar includes six sets of back-to-back races - one more than in 2005 - with two three-week breaks, one in April between the Australian and San Marino Grands Prix and the other in August between Hungary and Turkey.

The 2006 calendar in full:
Bahrain 12 March
Malaysia 19 March
Australia 2 April
San Marino 23 April
Europe 7 May
Spain 14 May
Monaco 28 May
Great Britain 11 June
Canada 25 June
United States 2 July
France 16 July
Germany 30 July
Hungary 6 August
Turkey 27 August
Italy 10 September
Belgium 17 September
China 1 October
Japan 8 October
Brazil* 22 October

*Subject to contract approval