Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Top award for Renault designer 11 Nov 2005

Giancarlo Fisichella (ITA) Renault R25.
Formula One World Championship, Rd15, Italian Grand Prix, Qualifying Day, Monza, Italy, 3 September 2005

Tosa earns recognition for R25's double title win

The Renault Formula One team’s head of aerodynamics, Dino Toso, has been named Aerodynamicist of the Year at Race Tech magazine’s annual World Motorsport Symposium.

Toso, who led the design team behind Renault’s championship-winning R25 machine, saw off competition from his Formula One colleagues and contemporaries in all other race series to claim the prize, which he collected at London’s Royal Air Force Museum.

"It is a privilege to receive this award, but it is first and foremost it recognises the work done by an extremely talented group of aerodynamicists, model-makers and technicians," commented Toso.

The Symposium also featured technical contributions on the topics of aerodynamics and engine design from leading Formula One figures including Mike Gascoyne and Luca Marmorini of Toyota, Alex Hitzinger of Cosworth and Renault's Axel Plasse, project leader for the team’s RS25 V10 engine.