Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Bridgestone welcome new teams 13 Nov 2006

Bridgestone Tyres 
Formula One World Championship, Rd 17, Japanese Grand Prix, Qualifying Day Suzuka, Japan, 7 October 2006

As expected, Bridgestone have confirmed they have finalised contracts to provide tyres to the six Formula One teams who were running Michelin rubber this season. The move comes ahead of the sport’s switch to a single tyre supplier for 2007.

Renault, McLaren, Honda, BMW Sauber, Red Bull and Toro Rosso are all making the change to Bridgestone and are expected to run on their new tyres for the first time at the Barcelona winter test in Spain, provisionally scheduled to take place later this month on November 28-30.

“We are extremely pleased that we have now reached agreements with the six remaining teams for the supply of Bridgestone Potenza tyres in the FIA Formula One World Championship,” said Hiroshi Yasukawa, Director of Bridgestone Motorsport. “We are very much looking forward to testing and racing with them all and developing good technical, personal and commercial relationships.”

The six Bridgestone newcomers join the Bridgestone’s current stable of five teams: Ferrari, Toyota, Williams, Spyker MF1 and Super Aguri.

“This year has been an extremely positive year for Formula One and we look forward to working with the teams and the FIA to ensure F1 has an exciting future,” added Yasukawa. “Our role will be to provide safe, high performance tyres of the highest quality and to ensure fairness of service to all the teams. We are therefore also particularly pleased that all 11 Formula One teams have recently cooperated with each other to agree a balanced programme of testing for 2007 in the interests of fairness and cost efficiency.”

Bridgestone are currently celebrating their tenth year as a tyre supplier to the FIA Formula One World Championship. In this time they have taken 104 victories, seven constructors’ championships and seven drivers’ titles.