Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Alonso and Renault collect their trophies 11 Dec 2006

Fernando Alonso at the annual FIA Gala awards ceremony, Monaco, December 08, 2006. © FIA

The annual FIA Gala awards ceremony took place in Monaco on Friday evening and the major figures in world motorsport were there to see Fernando Alonso and Renault pick up the FIA Formula One World Championship trophies for the second year in succession.

“This is my last official event with Renault and after a fantastic relationship now is the perfect point to finish, being world champion again in both constructors’ and drivers’ championships,” said the McLaren-bound Alonso. “I feel very happy with my career with Renault and now I start a new challenge.”

Alonso was joined on stage by Renault team boss Flavio Briatore, who received the trophy for the constructors’ championship: “This is the best. I am pleased for Renault, I’m pleased for the team and especially for the sport because it was good to see a very intense fight with Ferrari. It was a great season.”

Other Formula One-related prizes went to FOM (Formula One Management) and the promoters of the Brazilian Grand Prix. FOM picked up the Television Trophy for their coverage of the Chinese Grand Prix. The prize is awarded to the host broadcaster voted by all the other host broadcasters for having produced the best coverage of an event during the season.

The Brazilian race promoters collected the Race Promoters’ Trophy, awarded to the promoter who has proved most helpful, in the most difficult conditions. They expertly handled an event which recorded a number of milestones in the sport. It will long be remembered as a race of champions, with stunning drives Alonso, seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher and race-winner Felipe Massa, who became Brazil’s first home winner in over ten years.