Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Malaysian Grand Prix - the provisional grid 19 Mar 2006

The numerous engine-change penalties at Sepang left even the teams scratching their heads over the exact starting order for Sunday’s race. Those dropping down the order thanks to new V8s are Ferrari’s Michael Schumacher, Red Bull’s David Coulthard, Honda’s Rubens Barrichello, Ferrari’s Felipe Massa and Toyota’s Ralf Schumacher.

The official provisional grid, as released by the FIA on Sunday morning, follows below. Further changes are still possible prior to the race:

1. Fisichella 2. Button
3. Rosberg 4. Webber
5. Montoya 6. Raikkonen
7. Alonso 8. Klien
9. Trulli 10. Villeneuve
11. Heidfeld 12. Speed
13. Liuzzi 14. M Schumacher
15. Albers 16. Monteiro
17. Sato 18. Ide
19. Coulthard 20. Barrichello
21. Massa 22. R Schumacher