Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

FIA reveals 2008 Formula One Commission 31 May 2006

Max Mosley (GBR) FIA President.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 7, Monaco Grand Prix, Race Day, Monte-Carlo, Monaco, 28 May 2006

From 2008, just six of the 12 Formula One teams will have voting rights as part of the Formula One Commission, the FIA announced on Wednesday. The move, which leaves big names such as McLaren and Toyota without a vote, is part of an overhaul designed to simplify major decision making within the sport.

The Formula One Commission is responsible for approving any changes to the sporting and technical regulations proposed by the Sporting and Technical Working Groups (both of which include senior members from all teams), and then putting them forward to the FIA’s World Motor Sport Council for ratification.

In the past, all of the teams have had voting rights, along with engine suppliers, tyre manufacturers, race promoters, key sponsors. However, following the changes announced on Wednesday, just six teams - each from a different country - will have a say, along with five race promoters, plus a representative each from Formula One racing’s commercial rights holder and the FIA.

The full list of those elected on to the 2008 Commission following a vote of the FIA World Motor Sport Council is as follows:

Austria - Red Bull Racing
France - Renault
Germany - BMW Sauber
Italy - Ferrari
Japan - Honda
United Kingdom - Williams

Race promoters:
Australian Grand Prix
Brazilian Grand Prix
Hungarian Grand Prix
Monaco Grand Prix
Spanish Grand Prix