Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Hamilton collects Hawthorn Memorial Trophy 22 Jan 2008

British Formula 1 sensation Lewis Hamilton is presented with the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy by Colin Hilton (GBR) Chief Executive of the Motor Sports Association. Motor Sports Association's Night of Champions, Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London, 18 January 2008. © Motor Sports Association Race winner Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren Mercedes MP4/22 celebrates in parc ferme.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 11, Hungarian Grand Prix, Race, Budapest, Hungary, Sunday, 5 August 2007

McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton has been presented with the coveted Hawthorn Memorial Trophy. The prize is awarded annually to the most successful British or Commonwealth driver in the FIA Formula One World Championship.

Hamilton, who finished last season one point behind champion Kimi Raikkonen, collected his award at the weekend at a London ceremony held by Britain’s Motor Sports Association. The 23-year-old star received a standing ovation from the 150 guests, who included former world champion Damon Hill.

"Lewis' arrival on the F1 scene last season made a huge impact, capturing the public's imagination not only in this country but around the world," commented Colin Hilton, Chief Executive of the Motor Sports Association. "His performances have given us a great platform on which to raise the profile and develop the sport in this country.”

The Hawthorn Memorial Trophy was first presented by the Hawthorn family in memory of Mike Hawthorn, who became Britain's first Formula One world champion in 1958 but tragically died a year later. Hamilton is the 18th driver to win the trophy, but the first to do so in his maiden year of Formula One competition.