Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Hamilton wins Laureus Breakthrough prize 18 Feb 2008

(L to R): Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren with father Anthony. McLaren Mercedes MP4-23 Launch, Stuttgart, Germany, 7 January 2008. World © Sutton

McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton has picked up the ‘Breakthrough of the Year’ prize at the prestigious Laureus World Sports Awards in recognition of his spectacular Formula One debut.

Hamilton, who won four Grands Prix last year to finish just one point shy of world champion Kimi Raikkonen, collected his trophy on Monday evening at the annual ceremony in St Petersburg, Russia.

Raikkonen, meanwhile, lost out to tennis ace Roger Federer for the sportsman of the year title, while his employers, Ferrari, were beaten to the team crown by the South African rugby squad.

The winners of the Laureus Awards are selected by a special jury comprising 43 of the world's greatest sportsmen and women.