Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Goodwood FOS to mark Formula One anniversaries 27 Jun 2008

Silverstone, July 1956: Mike Hawthorn in the pits during practice for the British Grand Prix. He went on to qualify third, splitting the Ferraris of Juan Manuel Fangio and Peter Collins on the front row. © Sutton Heikki Kovalainen (FIN) McLaren and Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren in a 1908 Mercedes Benz during the drivers parade.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 8, French Grand Prix, Race, Magny-Cours, France, Sunday, 22 June 2008 Bruce McLaren (NZL) McLaren M7A took his first Formula One victory in six years and the first victory for his McLaren team. Belgian Grand Prix, Spa-Francorchamps, 9 June 1968. World © Phipps/Sutton Cosworth engine.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 8, British Grand Prix, Practice Day, Silverstone, England, 9 June 2006

The UK’s annual Goodwood Festival of Speed (FOS) always attracts a plethora of Formula One drivers and machinery, both past and present, and this July’s event will mark several anniversaries relating to motorsport’s top flight…

Mike Hawthorn: the theme of this year's Festival is 'Hawthorn to Hamilton,' marking 50 years since Mike Hawthorn became the first British Formula One world champion. Lewis Hamilton, who hopes to repeat his countryman’s success this season, will be in attendance to take his McLaren up the famous Goodwood hill.

1908 French Grand Prix: at last weekend’s Magny-Cours race Mercedes-Benz celebrated the 100th anniversary of their first Grand Prix success and the FOS will see a record number of the actual cars that competed in that 1908 race reunited, including machinery not just from Benz and Mercedes, but also Itala and Mors.

Cosworth: they remain the company behind the most successful engine in Formula One history, their legendary DFV having taken 155 victories. They are also 50 years old this year and Goodwood will recognise the occasion with a selection of famous Cosworth-powered race cars.

McLaren: legendary Formula One constructors McLaren celebrate 40 years of Grand Prix victories in 2008, and Goodwood will mark this achievement with an exciting display of significant McLaren race cars, including the championship-winning machines of Emerson Fittipaldi, Niki Lauda, Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna.

Among the other Formula One teams due to attend the Festival are BMW Sauber with testers Christian Klien and Marko Asmer, Red Bull with test driver Sebastian Buemi, Honda with Jenson Button and tester Alex Wurz, Ferrari with test driver Marc Gene and Toyota with test driver Kamui Kobayashi.

The 2008 Goodwood Festival of Speed takes place on July 11-13.