Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

FIA 2009 entry list as expected 12 Jan 2009

Team personnel pose with the number 1 McLaren of Lewis Hamilton (GBR) at the McLaren Technology Centre. Lewis Hamilton arrives in the UK as 2008 F1 World Champion, McLaren Technology Centre, Woking, England, 5 November 2008.

Formula One racing’s governing body, the FIA, has published the official entry list for the 2009 world championship. After winning his first world title last season, McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton will take charge of the number-one car, with team mate Heikki Kovalainen running number two.

The former Honda team, which is currently for sale, is the only team yet to confirm either race driver, while Toro Rosso still have one race seat up for grabs after announcing Sebastien Buemi last week.

The full entry list of constructors and drivers is as follows:

McLaren Mercedes
1 Lewis Hamilton (GB)
2 Heikki Kovalainen (FIN)

3 Kimi Raikkonen (FIN)
4 Felipe Massa (BR)

BMW Sauber
5 Robert Kubica (PL)
6 Nick Heidfeld (D)

7 Fernando Alonso (E)
8 Nelson Piquet (BR)

9 Jarno Trulli (I)
10 Timo Glock (D)

STR Ferrari
11 Sebastien Buemi (CH)
12 TBA

Red Bull Renault
14 Mark Webber (AUS)
15 Sebastian Vettel (D)

Williams Toyota
16 Nico Rosberg (D)
17 Kazuki Nakajima (J)

Honda *
18 TBA
19 TBA

Force India Mercedes
20 Adrian Sutil (D)
21 Giancarlo Fisichella (I)

* The Honda Motor Company announced their withdrawal from Formula One on December 5th, 2008. The Honda Racing team has not withdrawn its entry from the 2009 Formula One World Championship. The FIA understands the team is now for sale.