Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Vettel honoured by Germany's ADAC 26 Nov 2009

Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull Racing walks the circuit.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 16, Brazilian Grand Prix, Preparations, Interlagos, Sao Paulo, Brazil, Thursday, 15 October 2009

Although he ended his 2009 season as disappointed runner-up to Brawn GP’s Jenson Button in the drivers’ championship, Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel has received a boost from German motoring organisation, ADAC (Allgemeiner Deutscher Automobil Club), after being named their ‘motorsportsman of the year’ this week. ADAC is Europe's largest automobile club, with more than 16 million members.

Representing Vettel and Red Bull at the awards ceremony in the German city of Munich was Red Bull Racing’s head of race engineering Ian Morgan. Previous winners include former DTM champion Bernd Schneider and reigning world rally champion Sebastien Loeb.

Vettel, who has won five Grands Prix since his F1 debut in 2007, is only the second Formula One driver to be awarded the title, following in the footsteps of illustrious compatriot - and seven-time drivers’ titleholder - Michael Schumacher. At just 22 years-old, Vettel is also the youngest-ever recipient of the prize.