Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Jerez day two - Alonso and Renault end Brawn domination 17 Mar 2009

Fernando Alonso (ESP) Renault R29 Formula One Testing, 16 March 2009, Jerez, Spain. Rubens Barrichello (BRA), Formula One Testing, 16 March 2009, Jerez, Spain. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren Mercedes MP4-24. Formula One Testing, Jerez, Spain. Day Two, Monday 16 March 2009. Nico Rosberg (GER) Williams FW31 Formula One Testing, 16 March 2009, Jerez, Spain.

Renault’s Fernando Alonso was the quickest man at Jerez on Monday, ending Ross Brawn’s team’s recent monopoly on the top of the testing timesheets. Alonso finished less than a tenth of a second ahead of Rubens Barrichello after a productive session at the Spanish circuit.

"I'm happy with the day as we did more than a 100 laps which was our target for my final day of winter testing,” said Alonso, who will hand over to team mate Nelson Piquet on Tuesday. "This has been the first time we have run on a really hot track and the information we have from today will be very useful for the first few races, which are usually very hot.”

Ross Brawn had both his team’s drivers in action. Barrichello completed a series of set-up and tyre evaluations and covered 62 laps in the morning. Jenson Button took over for the afternoon and began a race simulation before a gearbox problem brought his running to an early conclusion after 12 laps, leaving him third fastest.

Lewis Hamilton was fourth after 87 laps for McLaren. The world champion’s programme began with the evaluation of a number of new, subtle aerodynamic modifications to the MP4-24, before a series of longer runs to assess the new aero package’s effect on tyre degradation.

The final runner was Williams’ Nico Rosberg, who completed 123 laps, predominantly set-up work, in the FW31.

All four teams continue at Jerez on Tuesday.

Unofficial Monday times from Jerez:
1. Fernando Alonso, Renault R29, 1:18.343
2. Rubens Barrichello, Brawn BGP 001, 1:18.398
3. Jenson Button, Brawn BGP 001, 1:18.892
4. Lewis Hamilton, McLaren MP4-24, 1:19.513
5. Nico Rosberg, Williams FW31, 1:19.783