Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Hamilton and Vettel among Laureus Award nominees 17 Apr 2009

Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 3, Chinese Grand Prix, Preparations, Shanghai, China, Thursday, 16 April 2009 Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull Racing RB5.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 2, Malaysian Grand Prix, Practice Day, Sepang, Malaysia, Friday, 3 April 2009

McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton and Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel have both been nominated for prestigious Laureus Awards, it was announced Thursday. The annual prizes, which were established in 2000, recognise global sporting achievements.

Reigning Formula One world champion Hamilton is up against sprinter Usain Bolt, tennis ace Rafael Nadal, swimmer Michael Phelps, footballer Cristiano Ronaldo and MotoGP’s Valentino Rossi in the ‘Sportsman of the Year’ category, an award won by Michael Schumacher in 2002 and 2004.

Vettel, meanwhile, is one of six nominees in the ‘Breakthrough of the Year’ category, after becoming the youngest-ever Formula One victor by winning the 2008 Italian Grand Prix for Toro Rosso. Hamilton won the ‘Breakthrough’ award last year.

Rather than holding their traditional prize-giving ceremony, Laureus and their partners have decided that due to the current economic climate, the winners - when announced - will receive their awards individually at a series of presentations in May and June.