Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Final practice - Kubica leads as Alonso falters 15 May 2010

Robert Kubica (POL) Renault R30 
Formula One World Championship, Rd 6, Monaco Grand Prix, Practice Day, Monte-Carlo, Monaco, Thursday, 13 May 2010 Sutil loses the back end of the Force India and is lucky to have only nudged the wall Alguersuari approaches the tunnel during the first timed lap of the day

With less than a second separating the fastest 12 drivers in Saturday morning’s final practice session, Monaco is set for a gripping qualifying session.

Robert Kubica was in unbeatable form for Renault, taking his R30 round in 1m 14.806s, but Felipe Massa was only 0.046s slower for Ferrari with 1m 14.852s, followed by Mark Webber for Red Bull on 1m 14.945s.

Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel both just failed to break 1m 15s, with 1m 15.038s and 1m 15.046s respectively.

Right behind them, Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg battled in their Mercedes, with 1m 15.236s and 1m 15.252s respectively, ahead of Sebastien Buemi on 1m 15.537s, Adrian Sutil on 1m 15.659s, Jenson Button on 1m 15.682s and Tonio Liuzzi on 1m 15.691s. 0.963s separated them all.

Fernando Alonso? The Spaniard was fastest with 1m16.266s when he went off at Massenet, in what appeared to be a very rare error going into the corner which deposited the Ferrari in the outer wall to the serious detriment of its rear suspension. He fell to 16th overall. Sutil also hit a wall but got away with it, while Schumacher and Vitaly Petrov made undamaging visits to the Mirabeau escape road and Kamui Kobayashi had a lurid spin and recovery at Rascasse.

Jaime Alguersuari was 12th for Toro Rosso on 1m 15.769s, chased by Nico Hulkenberg and Rubens Barrichello in the Williams on 1m 16.164s and 1m 16.232s respectively. Behind Alonso, Kobayashi was 17th for BMW Sauber on 1m 16.644s ahead of team mate Pedro de la Rosa on 1m 16.696s.

Heikki Kovalainen was again the fastest new team runner for Lotus on a more than respectable 1m 17.782s, chased by team mate Jarno Trulli on 1m 17.865s. The lead Virgin was again Lucas di Grassi’s on 1m 18.063s, then Bruno Senna was the faster HRT runner on 1m 19.720s with team mate Karun Chandhok right behind on 1m 19.781s. Timo Glock didn’t set a time after his Virgin stopped early on in Sector Two.