Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Ten drivers handed post-race penalties 27 Jun 2010

FIA Safety Car.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 9, European Grand Prix, Preparations, Valencia Spain, Thursday, 24 June 2010

Jenson Button, Rubens Barrichello, Nico Hulkenberg, Robert Kubica, Vitaly Petrov, Adrian Sutil, Vitantonio Liuzzi, Sebastien Buemi and Pedro de la Rosa have all received penalties from the Valencia stewards for safety-car rule infringements.

All nine men will have five seconds added to their final race time for speeding under the safety car during their in-laps prior to pitting following Mark Webber’s dramatic crash in the early stages of the European Grand Prix.

In a separate incident, Timo Glock has had 20 seconds added to his race time for ignoring blue flags.

The penalties mean Fernando Alonso moves up a place to eighth, with Buemi dropping to ninth, while Nico Rosberg picks up a point for tenth at the expense of De la Rosa.