Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Senna wins 2012 Lorenzo Bandini award 12 Jun 2012

Bruno Senna (BRA) Williams.
Formula One World Championship, Rd4, Bahrain Grand Prix Preparations, Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir, Bahrain, Thursday, 19 April 2012 Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel collects the Lorenzo Bandini Trophy, Brisighella, Italy, May 31 2009. © Red Bull Racing Bruno Senna (BRA) Williams FW34.
Formula One World Championship, Rd4, Bahrain Grand Prix Practice, Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir, Bahrain, Friday, 20 April 2012

Williams driver Bruno Senna is to be the recipient of the 2012 Lorenzo Bandini Trophy, and will receive his award at a ceremony in the Italian town of Brisighella on Sunday, July 15.

Established in 1992, the prize is given in memory of Italian race driver Lorenzo Bandini by his hometown of Brisighella, near Imola. Senna is the 19th recipient, with past winners including Sebastian Vettel, Lewis Hamilton, Fernando Alonso, Michael Schumacher, Juan Pablo Montoya and Alex Wurz.

“It’s a great honour to receive the Lorenzo Bandini Trophy, particularly when you consider the excellent racing drivers that have been awarded it in the past,” said Senna. “I would like to thank the people of Brisighella for their kind support and generosity as well as all of those who have helped me in my career so far.”

The trophy is traditionally awarded to a driver who has shown great promise at the beginning of his career, befitting the memory of Lorenzo Bandini who was the leading Italian driver at the time of his tragic death at the 1967 Monaco Grand Prix.

It is customary for the winner to make the 12 kilometre drive from Faenza to Brisighella to reach the ceremony, driving on public streets with fans gathering to celebrate.

“I’m very much looking forward to the prize giving ceremony next month, which promises to be a great event,” added Senna.

For tickets and travel to 2012 Formula One races, click here.
For Formula One and F1 team merchandise, click here.