Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Six teams set for December tyre test in Bahrain 09 Dec 2013

McLaren MP4-28 front wheel and Pirelli tyre.
Formula One World Championship, Rd17, Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Practice, Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi, UAE, Friday, 1 November 2013 Fernando Alonso (ESP) Ferrari F138.
Formula One World Championship, Rd4, Bahrain Grand Prix, Practice, Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir, Bahrain, Friday, 19 April 2013

Six teams will attend a three-day Pirelli tyre test in Bahrain from December 17-19, Formula One racing’s governing body, the FIA, announced on Monday.

Wet weather scuppered Pirelli’s plans to trial 2014 rubber during practice at the season finale in Brazil and, as a result, the Formula One Commission have agreed to change the 2013 Sporting Regulations, on safety grounds, to allow the extra test at the Sakhir circuit.

All eleven Formula One teams were invited to participate in the session with their 2013 machines, but only Red Bull Racing, Mercedes, Ferrari, McLaren, Force India and Toro Rosso accepted the offer. Lotus, Sauber, Williams, Marussia and Caterham have all opted to miss the test.

For tickets and travel to 2014 FORMULA 1 races, click here.
For FORMULA 1 merchandise, click here.