Latest / Feature

While they were away - what F1 did this summer

23 Aug 2017

As the drivers prepare to return to race action in Belgium this weekend, we bring you a social media round-up of what some of them have been doing during the F1 summer shutdown...

Lewis Hamilton

As well as hanging out with Roscoe, the three-time world champion also found time for sailing, racing off-road buggies, and doing some charity work in Cuba...



Max Verstappen

For the young Dutchman it was a case of enjoying sunshine with friends, more off-roading, and meeting his fans at one of Red Bull's famous soap-box racing events...

Summertime 😎☀️🛥

A post shared by Max Verstappen (@maxverstappen1) on

Squad on tour ✌️

A post shared by Max Verstappen (@maxverstappen1) on



Daniel Ricciardo

Red Bull hinted that he'd be off to the beach with team mate Verstappen, but the affable Aussie also made space for family and some fun on two wheels...

Break was awesome. Valuable family time, some great adventures. Good to switch off for a bit 😌

A post shared by Daniel Ricciardo (@danielricciardo) on


Jolyon Palmer

The Renault driver laid claim to one of the biggest achievements of the summer - travelling to Africa and scaling its highest peak...

New trip, something pretty different! #Africa #TIA #Tanzania 🇹🇿

A post shared by Jolyon Palmer (@jolyon_palmer) on

Kilimanjaro summit at 19,000 feet (5,900m) ✅. Unbelievably tough but an incredible experience! #Kilimanjaro

A post shared by Jolyon Palmer (@jolyon_palmer) on


Kevin Magnussen

The Dane proved as unpredictable as ever, mixing flying time and farm yards...

Just made a new friend. 😀🐖

A post shared by Kevin Magnussen (@kevinmagnussen) on


Lance Stroll

The Williams rookie didn't completely escape the sporting arena, swapping the race track for the golf course...

She's on the dance floor, but she ain't home yet. Slight break to the left bro..?

A post shared by Lance Stroll (@lance_stroll) on


Marcus Ericsson

Sauber's Swedish star didn't escape the race track at all - that's brotherly love for you...



Romain Grosjean

The Frenchman was among several drivers to spend time on the water - none had his world turned upside down quite like this though...

🙃🙃🙃

A post shared by Romain Grosjean (@grosjeanromain) on


Stoffel Vandoorne

It was a case of Montenegro meets Monaco for McLaren's Belgian star, all in the name of rest and relaxation...

End of a great couple of days relaxing with my friends in #Montenegro #Kotor! 📸⬅️☀️🏝 #Summer2k17

A post shared by Stoffel Vandoorne (@svandoorne) on

Morning jog 🏃☀️👌 #SV2

A post shared by Stoffel Vandoorne (@svandoorne) on


Valtteri Bottas

There's no place like home, they say - hard to argue with a sunset snap like that from Mercedes' flying Finn...


Sergio Perez

The Force India driver matched Bottas in the sunset stakes, but definitely had him beaten in the 'big bubbles' department...

Domingo! #Feliz

A post shared by Checo Pérez (@schecoperez) on


Daniil Kvyat

Boats, water, sunshine, beaches... are you starting to sense a theme here among F1 drivers? Kvyat also shared his break with girlfriend Kelly Piquet...

A post shared by Daniil Kvyat (@danydk1) on

A post shared by Daniil Kvyat (@danydk1) on


Pascal Wehrlein

The message from the Sauber driver suggests a strict regime for his summer break - the picture tells us it was either very tiring, or very relaxing...

Eat 🍴 sleep 😴 train 💪🏽 fun 🏄🏽 repeat 🔄

A post shared by Pascal Wehrlein (@pascal_wehrlein) on


Esteban Ocon

There was more of a party atmosphere for the Force India star's seaside break...

The dream team on holidays 🔥😎! #Relaxing #Friends #Spain

A post shared by Esteban Ocon®🇫🇷 (@estebanocon) on


Fernando Alonso

The two-time world champion found time to check in with progress at his museum before heading to the scenic setting of Mikonos - even there, though, he couldn't resist a spot of training...

☀️🌊🛶🏖 #agioslazarosresort

A post shared by Fernando Alonso (@fernandoalo_oficial) on


Footnote

He wasn't strictly on summer break, given his recent retirement from F1, but it was interesting to see that racing hasn't entirely left the blood of reigning world champion Nico Rosberg...