Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content


The podium finishers: (L to R) Fernando Alonso (second), Ferrari, Kimi Raikkonen (first), Lotus, and Sebastian Vettel (third), Red Bull Racing Race winner Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren on the podium.
Formula One World Championship, Australian Grand Prix, Rd1, Race Day, Albert Park, Melbourne, Australia, Sunday, 18 March 2012 Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren and Fernando Alonso (ESP) Ferrari celebrates on the podium with the champagne.
Formula One World Championship, Rd2, Malaysian Grand Prix, Race, Sepang, Malaysia, Sunday, 25 March 2012

The top ten finishers in each Grand Prix score points towards both the drivers’ and the constructors’ world championships, according to the following scale:

1st : 25 points
2nd : 18 points
3rd : 15 points
4th : 12 points
5th : 10 points
6th : 8 points
7th : 6 points
8th : 4 points
9th : 2 points
10th : 1 point

(The only exceptions to this is when a race is suspended and cannot be restarted, in which case if less than 75 percent of the race distance has been completed half points are awarded, and if less than two laps have been completed, no points are awarded.)

For example, if in a given race Daniil Kvyat finishes second for Red Bull and team mate Daniel Ricciardo fifth, then Kvyat and Ricciardo score 18 and ten points respectively towards the drivers’ championship, while Red Bull score 28 points (18 plus 10) towards the constructors’ championship.

The drivers' and constructors' championship titles are awarded to the driver and constructor who score the most points over the course of the season. In the case of a dead heat for a championship place then the driver or constructor with the higher number of superior race results will be awarded the place.