Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Driver changes and additional drivers

(L to R): Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Williams, Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams FW34 Third Driver and Bruno Senna (BRA) Williams.
Formula One World Championship, Rd4, Bahrain Grand Prix Practice, Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir, Bahrain, Friday, 20 April 2012

Teams may use up to four drivers during a season, all of whom may score points in the championship. A driver change may be made with the permission of the stewards any time before the start of qualifying. The new driver must use the engine and tyres allocated to the original driver.

On top of this, in each of Friday's two practice sessions teams may run up to two additional drivers, though each team is still limited to two cars. Any holder of a Super License may run as an additional driver, but stewards must be informed of a team's plans before the end of initial scrutineering on the Thursday prior to practice.