Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

February debut, Petronas backing for Mercedes 21 Dec 2009

Artist's impression of the 2010 Petronas-liveried Mercedes Formula One car © Mercedes Norbert Haug (GER) Mercedes Sporting Director.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 3, Chinese Grand Prix, Practice Day, Shanghai, China, Friday, 17 April 2009 Ross Brawn (GBR) Brawn Grand Prix Team Principal.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 14, Singapore Grand Prix, Qualifying Day, Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore, Saturday, 26 September 2009

The new Mercedes team, formed following the German carmaker’s recent purchase of Brawn GP, has announced Malaysian national oil and gas company Petronas as its title sponsor. Under a newly-signed long-term agreement, the German squad plan to compete as the Mercedes GP Petronas Formula One Team next season.

Mercedes have also confirmed that their 2010 car will make its track debut in its new livery at Valencia in Spain on 1 February, for the first of next year’s pre-season tests.

“Petronas’ home base in Kuala Lumpur is located in the middle of a fast-growing region for the automotive industry which makes this new partnership even more valuable,” commented Norbert Haug, Vice-President of Mercedes-Benz Motorsports.

“Within the limits of the new Formula One resource restrictions, the Mercedes GP Petronas Formula One Team will be well positioned to achieve our goals. We will all strive to present efficient success in the future knowing at the same time that the new Formula One season with some fundamental rule changes will be a particularly challenging one."

Team principal Ross Brawn added: "Our plans for the new season are progressing well, as is the development of our 2010 challenger, and we look forward to seeing the car run in the new Silver Arrows and Petronas livery at the Valencia test in February."

Germany's Nico Rosberg will race for Mercedes next season, but his team mate has yet to be confirmed as speculation continues about a possible comeback for seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher .