Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content


Base: Koln, Germany
Team Principal: Tadashi Yamashina
Technical Chief: Pascal Vasselon
Drivers: J Trulli
  T Glock
Test Drivers: K Kobayashi
Chassis: TF109
Engine: Toyota RVX-09
Tyres: Bridgestone Potenza
First Season: 2002
World Championships: 0
Highest race finish: 2 (x5)
Pole Positions: 3
Fastest Laps: 3
Timo Glock (GER) Toyota TF109.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 9, German Grand Prix, Qualifying Day, Nurburgring, Germany, Saturday, 11 July 2009


One of three teams to champion the double diffuser. The TF109 proves a quick, if inconsistent charge and Jarno Trulli and Timo Glock are able to score at most rounds. Third driver Kamui Kobayashi replaces an injured Glock in Brazil and Abu Dhabi. Toyota announce F1 withdrawal at end of season.

Timo Glock (GER) Toyota celebrates 2nd place with John Howett (GBR) President of Toyota F1.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 11, Hungarian Grand Prix, Race, Budapest, Hungary, Sunday, 3 August 2008


The TF108 proves a significant improvement on its predecessor, powering the team to their first podiums since 2006. Score at 12 of 18 races, with newcomer Timo Glock proving a worthy team mate to veteran Jarno Trulli. Finish fifth overall on 56 points.

Jarno Trulli (ITA) Toyota TF107.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 10, European Grand Prix, Practice Day, Nurburgring, Germany, Friday, 20 July 2007


Disappointing sixth campaign, scoring 13 points - 22 points less than in '06 - to finish behind customer team Williams in the standings. Jarno Trulli and Ralf Schumacher struggle to get best from TF107. Schumacher leaves for pastures new for 2008.

Ralf Schumacher (GER) Toyota TF106.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 9, Canadian Grand Prix, Qualifying Day, Montreal, Canada, 24 June 2006


Erratic season, dropping to sixth in standings with less than half 2005 points total. Struggle to adapt to Bridgestone tyres early on and technical director Mike Gascoyne departs after three races. Ralf Schumacher's third in Australia the only podium.

Ralf Schumacher (GER) Toyota on the podium. 
Formula One World Championship, Rd19,  Chinese Grand Prix, Race, Shanghai, China, 16 October 2005


Breakthrough season, with two poles, five podiums and fourth in constructors' championship. High point Bahrain, with Jarno Trulli second, Ralf Schumacher fourth. Low point Schumacher's high-speed Indianapolis crash, ahead of Michelin withdrawal.

Cristiano Da Matta (BRA) Toyota TF104.
Formula One World Championship, British Grand Prix, Rd 11, Practice, Silverstone, England, 9 July 2004


Unexpectedly drop Cristiano da Matta after Germany, replacing him with Ricardo Zonta. 2005 signing Jarno Trulli races in final two rounds, replacing Zonta in Japan and Panis in Brazil. Disappointing eighth overall after scoring points in just three races.

Olivier Panis (FRA) Toyota TF103.
Formula One World Championship, Rd8, Canadian Grand Prix, Montreal, Canada, 13 June 2003


Eighth place in the final standings masks some solid progress. Lead the British Grand Prix for 18 laps, finish fifth and sixth in Germany and qualify third and fourth at Suzuka.



The team's debut year. Finish tenth in the constructors' championship having scored two points. Announce that drivers Mika Salo and Allan McNish are to be replaced for the 2003 season.

L-R: Mika Salo (FIN) Toyota Motorsport , Allan McNish (GBR) Toyota Motorsport Toyota F1 test car pre-launch - 23 March 2001. World ©  Photo: Sutton


The test car is launched at the Paul Ricard Circuit in France. An extensive test programme commences.

Toyota to enter F1, L to R Tsumoto Tomita (JPN) Director of Toyota Motor Corporation, Max Mosley (GBR) President of the FIA and Ove Anderson (SWE) Toyota GP Boss Belgian GP, Spa, 27 August 2000. World © Sutton


Creation of the Toyota team. New R&D facility opens in Koln, Germany and the company's first Formula One V10 engine is fired up for the first time.


01 Brawn-Mercedes 172
02 RBR-Renault 153.5
03 McLaren-Mercedes 71
04 Ferrari 70
05 Toyota 59.5
06 BMW Sauber 36
07 Williams-Toyota 34.5
08 Renault 26
09 Force India-Mercedes 13
10 STR-Ferrari 8