Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Brake system

Wheel and brake disc detail on the Williams FW34.
Formula One World Championship, Rd15, Japanese Grand Prix, Preparations, Suzuka, Japan, Thursday, 4 October 2012 Lotus E20 front wheel, brakes and suspension.
Formula One World Championship, Rd20 Brazilian Grand Prix, Qualifying, Sao Paulo, Brazil, 24 November 2012

Formula One cars must have one brake system operated through a single brake pedal. However, the system must comprise two hydraulic circuits - one for the front wheels and one for the rear. Should one circuit fail the other must remain operational. Anti-lock braking systems (ABS) are not allowed - brake pressure must be controlled by the driver’s physical input only and not by any other system. The only exception is the electronic rear brake control system, introduced in 2014 to compensate for the extra power being generated under braking by Energy Recovery Systems (ERS).

Each wheel must have no more than one brake disc of 278mm maximum diameter and 28mm maximum thickness. Each disc must have only one aluminium caliper, with a maximum of six circular pistons, and no more than two brake pads.

The size of the air ducts used to cool the brakes is strictly controlled and they must not protrude beyond the wheels. The use of liquid to cool the brakes is forbidden.