Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Ferrari's Massa wins Bandini award 21 Feb 2007

Race winner Felipe Massa (BRA) Ferrari celebrates on the podium.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 18, Brazilian Grand Prix, Race, Interlagos, Brazil, 22 October 2006

Ferrari’s Felipe Massa will add another trophy to his growing collection, after winning this year’s prestigious Lorenzo Bandini award. Massa will receive the prize, awarded annually to an outstanding Formula One driver, at an event in Italy on May 6.

The trophy, named in honour of Italian racer Lorenzo Bandini, who died after crashing in the 1967 Monaco Grand Prix, will be handed to the Brazilian driver in the Italian town of Brisighella, Bandini’s home town. Previous recipients include Mark Webber, who won the award last year, Michael Schumacher, Kimi Raikkonen and Fernando Alonso.

Massa enjoyed an impressive 2006 season, finishing third in the championship standings. He scored a maiden win in the Turkish Grand Prix, after starting from pole and ended the season on a high after winning his home race in Brazil.