Full Team Name Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team
Base Brackley, United Kingdom
Team Chief Toto Wolff
Technical Chief Paddy Lowe
Chassis F1 W07 Hybrid
Power Unit Mercedes
First Team Entry 1970
World Championships 2
Highest Race Finish 1 (x50)
Pole Positions 59
Fastest Laps 37

In profile

Mercedes' revival of their Formula One tradition through the creation of a works team for the 2010 championship was also the platform for a meteoric rise up the Grand Prix order. Already the team had generated huge excitement by securing the sensational return of Michael Schumacher, but headlines began to follow on track: three podiums came in their debut season, all via Nico Rosberg - who then claimed a breakthrough pole/victory double at China in 2012. The following season he would be paired with Lewis Hamilton, with the duo going on to stage an epic title battle just one year later as Mercedes swept all before them en route to becoming one of the most dominant forces of the modern F1 era...


Hamilton leads Mercedes to a second successive championship double, the team once more emerging victorious in 16 of the year's 19 rounds, this time beating their own 2014 record with a stunning 12 one-two finishes.


The Silver Arrows dominate the first season of the hybrid engine era, winning a record 16 of 19 races and a securing a record 11 one-two finishes. They secure a maiden constructors' crown with three rounds to spare, and clinch the first drivers' title for Mercedes-Benz since Juan Manuel Fangio in the 1950s courtesy of Lewis Hamilton.


Lewis Hamilton joins the team in place of Michael Schumacher. The F1 W04 is inherently quick but, initially at least, is hard on tyres. Four consecutive poles eventually yield the first win of the season as Rosberg triumphs in Monaco, with further victories following in Great Britain (Rosberg) and Hungary (Hamilton). Neither is able to hold on to Red Bull in the later races, but they do ensure Mercedes finish the season second overall.

Read Mercedes' full year-by-year profile