F1 teams will have six days of pre-season testing at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya to fine-tune their cars on-track ahead of the 2020 campaign.

    Traditionally, there have been two four-day tests at the Spanish Grand Prix venue, but with an extra race added to the calendar next year, a compromise has been reached.

    Two three-day winter tests will be held, the first running 19-21 February and the second running 26-28 February, with a four-day gap in between.

    The two in-season tests, which this year took place in Bahrain and Spain, have been removed from the 2020 schedule, placing a great emphasis on testing parts in Friday free practice sessions.

    Meanwhile in a meeting of the FIA World Motor Sport Council in Germany, the 2020 calendar was formally confirmed.

    A number of changes to the 2020 Sporting Regulations were also discussed and will be proposed to the Council for a decision by e-vote.

    In addition, the Council was presented with a detailed update of the draft 2021 Sporting, Technical and Financial Regulations, providing it with the information required for the e-vote which will be held in order for the regulations to be published by 31 October.

    F1 2020 Calendar*

    Round Date Grand Prix Location
    - 19-21 FEB PRE-SEASON TEST 1 Barcelona
    - 26 - 28 FEB PRE-SEASON TEST 2 Barcelona
    1 15 MAR AUSTRALIA Melbourne
    2 22 MAR BAHRAIN Sakhir
    3 5 APR VIETNAM Hanoi
    4 19 APR CHINA Shanghai
    5 3 MAY NETHERLANDS Zandvoort
    6 10 MAY SPAIN Barcelona
    7 24 MAY MONACO Monte Carlo
    9 14 JUN CANADA Montreal
    10 28 JUN FRANCE Le Castellet
    11 5 JUL AUSTRIA Spielberg
    12 19 JUL GREAT BRITAIN Silverstone
    13 2 AUG HUNGARY Budapest
    14 30 AUG BELGIUM Spa-Francorchamps
    15 6 SEP ITALY** Monza
    16 20 SEP SINGAPORE Singapore
    17 27 SEP RUSSIA Sochi
    18 11 OCT JAPAN Suzuka
    19 25 OCT UNITED STATES Austin
    20 1 NOV MEXICO CITY Mexico City
    21 15 NOV BRAZIL Sao Paulo
    22 29 NOV ABU DHABI Yas Island