Old protagonists Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc will face off for the final time in 2023 when they start from the front row of the grid for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. And pressuring the Red Bull and Ferrari stars into Turn 1 will be McLaren's Oscar Piastri and Mercedes' George Russell, who qualified third and fourth at Yas Marina.

    Other standout performances in Q3 came from Yuki Tsunoda in P6 for AlphaTauri and Nico Hulkenberg for Haas in P8. Less impressive – and not even making the cut for the top-ten shootout – were Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton and Ferrari's Carlos Sainz, who line up 11th and 16th respectively.

    And at the very rear of the grid we have Logan Sargeant – the only man whose seat remains unconfirmed for 2024 – who was granted permission to start by the stewards after the Williams driver failed to set a lap time during qualifying.


    Abu Dhabi 2023

    Starting Grid

    1 Max Verstappen VER Red Bull Racing 1:23.445
    2 Charles Leclerc LEC Ferrari 1:23.584
    3 Oscar Piastri PIA McLaren 1:23.782
    4 George Russell RUS Mercedes 1:23.788
    5 Lando Norris NOR McLaren 1:23.816
    6 Yuki Tsunoda TSU AlphaTauri 1:23.968
    7 Fernando Alonso ALO Aston Martin 1:24.084
    8 Nico Hulkenberg HUL Haas F1 Team 1:24.108
    9 Sergio Perez PER Red Bull Racing 1:24.171
    10 Pierre Gasly GAS Alpine 1:24.548

    The 2023 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix starts at 1700 local time. Be sure to join our live coverage from 1600 here.

    READ MORE: Elbows out and Logan's last chance – What To Watch For in the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix