Blakeley crowned 2022 F1 Esports Series champion as Rasmussen takes final victory of 2022 in Abu Dhabi


Lucas Blakeley was crowned in the 2022 F1 Esports Series Pro Championship on Friday evening after a fourth-place finish in Abu Dhabi secured him enough points for the title.

After leading the championship from the very first round in Bahrain, Blakeley went into the final event with a 21-point gap to second place, needing only a top-eight finish to guarantee success.

It comes off the back of a dominant display on Thursday evening in Brazil, where he claimed his fourth win of 2022 to put himself on the precipice of the title. Read more on Thursday’s racing in the link below...

F1 Esports Series Pro Championship: Lucas Blakeley dominates in Brazil to put one hand on the trophy

Josh Idowu claimed a surprise pole position in Abu Dhabi, his first in the Pro Championship. Off the line, he was challenged by Thomas Ronhaar, whose slim championship hopes spurred him on to a punchy first lap.

Ronhaar emerged with the lead, and Frede Rasmussen followed him through past Idowu on Lap 3. However, Blakeley maintained his sound P4 grid slot, more than enough to seal the deal.

2022 F1 Esports Series Pro Championship: Round 12 Highlights, Abu Dhabi

Haas rear gunner Piotr Stachulec almost dealt his team mate Ronhaar back into contention, sitting on the front wing of Blakeley on Lap 20 in Sergio Perez-esque fashion, but to no avail. Blakeley passed down the back straight and disappeared up the road.

READ MORE: See all the results from the 2022 F1 Esports Series Pro Championship

He wasn’t the only Haas being overpowered – Rasmussen passing Ronhaar on Lap 24 to seize the lead with just five laps remaining, and that’s how they crossed the line. Behind Rasmussen and Ronhaar came Idowu, who took his third podium of the season. Blakeley finished a title-netting fourth, ahead of fellow champions David Tonizza and Jarno Opmeer.

Bari Boroumand rocked up in P7, with the fourth and final champion on the grid – Brendon Leigh – taking eighth. Luke Smith and Nicolas Longuet completed the points.

Points mean prizes!

Blakeley ends the season as champion on a tally of 181 points, ahead of Rasmussen, who finishes eight points behind the leader for the second year in a row. He takes his fourth consecutive P2 position in the championship, with Ronhaar a superb third in his debut year. Boroumand scores well in fourth, ahead of outgoing champion Opmeer, and one-time winner Longuet.

On the teams’ side of things, McLaren Shadow ran away with the title and took 330 points, eclipsing Oracle Red Bull Racing Esports in P2. Haas F1 Esports take third, fending off the might of Mercedes. The two Alfa/Alpha teams (Alfa Romeo and AlphaTauri) finished strongly, breaking through the 100-point barrier.

And just like that, the F1 Esports Series Pro Championship is done for another year. We hope you’ve enjoyed the racing action as much as we have – see you in 2023!


Coming Up

Coming Up


Piastri admits McLaren team orders made him ‘a bit nervous’ as he reflects on ‘very special’ maiden win in Hungary