F2: Stanek promoted to Sprint Race victory as Hadjar, Bearman and Crawford handed penalties in Melbourne

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 23: Race winner Isack Hadjar of France and Campos Racing (20)

Following the conclusion of the Formula 2 Sprint Race in Melbourne, multiple drivers have received post-race penalties – with Roman Stanek promoted to the victory.

Original victor Isack Hadjar was handed a 10-second time penalty after the Campos Racing driver was found to have caused a collision with his team mate Josep Maria Marti and Invicta Racing’s Gabriel Bortoleto at the start of the race.

F2: Hauger takes maiden F2 pole in red flag-affected qualifying in Melbourne

That meant Hadjar lost his victory and was dropped down to sixth, promoting Trident’s Stanek to P1. MP Motorsport’s Dennis Hauger was classified P2, with Invicta Racing driver Kush Maini moved up to third. The Indian driver also moved up to third in the drivers’ championship as a result, now on 33 points.

Formula 2 Highlights: 2024 Australian GP Sprint Race

F3: Stenshorne takes maiden victory in Melbourne Sprint Race

Fresh from his F1 debut in Jeddah two weeks ago, Ollie Bearman was also handed a 10-second time penalty for forcing PHM AIX Racing’s Joshua Duerksen off the track.

Bearman therefore dropped from P8 to 15th in the classification, promoting ART Grand Prix driver Zak O’Sullivan up to eighth and giving him the final point in the Sprint Race.

Finally, Jak Crawford was handed a five-place grid penalty for tomorrow’s Feature Race after the stewards found that he did not have the correct number of tyres to comply with the Sporting Regulations in relation to the Feature Race.

For a full report of the Formula 2 Sprint Race, visit the official website here.


Coming Up

Coming Up


Ricciardo left with ‘a lot of anger’ as he rues RB strategy call that dropped him out of the points in Hungary