Hamilton, Raikkonen and Mercedes earn Laureus nominations

Formula One World

Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes have both been nominated for the prestigious 2018 Laureus World Sports Awards, while Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen has also been shortlisted for the sporting moment of the year.

Hamilton's nomination comes in the World Sportsman of the Year category, where he takes on tennis legends Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal, athletics’ 10,000m gold medallist Mo Farah, and cycling's four-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome.

Mercedes, meanwhile, have secured a fourth successive nomination in the World Team Of The Year category. It follows their remarkable fourth straight double of drivers' and constructors' world championship crowns.

The Silver Arrows find themselves up against the France Davis Cup team; basketball's Golden State Warriors; New Zealand's America's Cup Team, NFL's Superbowl winners the New England Patriots; and the reigning La Liga and UEFA Champions League champions Real Madrid.

In the Best Sporting Moment category motorsport has two representatives: Raikkonen, for his part in turning one young fan's tears into joy in Spain last year; and British teenager Billy Monger for his inspirational recovery from a life-changing F4 accident last year.

Formula 1 has a fine record of success at the Laureus Awards, with Michael Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel having both won the prestigious Sportsman Of The Year prize. Brawn GP and Renault are past winners in the Team Of The Year category, while Nico Rosberg, Daniel Ricciardo, Jenson Button, Lewis Hamilton and Juan Pablo Montoya have each scooped the Breakthrough award.

This year’s winners will be announced on February 27 in Monaco. To cast your vote visit


Coming Up

Coming Up


IT’S RACE WEEK: 5 storylines we’re excited about ahead of the 2024 Spanish Grand Prix