WATCH: Hamilton and Mercedes officially crowned F1 world champions for 2020


It wasn’t the usual glitzy affair, with Covid restrictions in place, but Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes have been officially crowned F1 world champions for 2020 during the FIA’s virtual Prize-Giving ceremony on Friday evening.

Hamilton won 11 of the 17 races in 2021 to become only the second man in history to win seven world titles, while also surpassing Michael Schumacher’s long-standing record of 91 Grand Prix wins.

His winning margin of 124 points over Valtteri Bottas was his biggest title-winning margin ever, despite him missing one race after contracting Covid-19.

WATCH: FIA Prize Giving – A look back at 2020

Mercedes, meanwhile, won a seventh successive contructors' world title – also a record – as they took 13 wins and 15 pole positions.

As Toto Wolff accepted the constructors' crown, the Silver Arrows' other driver Valtteri Bottas was online to officially be crowned runner-up, while Red Bull's Max Verstappen accepted third place.

Other winners on the night included Kimi Raikkonen, who won 'Action of the year' honours for his brilliant Portuguese Grand Prix start, and AlphaTauri's 2021 driver Yuki Tsunoda, who follows Charles Leclerc and Alex Albon in winning the 'Rookie of the year' award for his third place finish in his debut season of F2.


Coming Up

Coming Up


Verstappen pinpoints moment that ‘made my race’ after beating Norris to Spanish GP win