Latest News / Feature

Vital Statistics - the Canadian Grand Prix

04 Jun 2014

The first Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal was won by the man after whom the circuit is now named - Gilles Villeneuve. But did you know that the only other Canadian driver to reach the podium on home soil was his son, Jacques, in 1996?

Ahead of this weekend’s Formula 1 Grand Prix du Canada 2014 we present all the need-to-know facts, stats and trivia…

Circuit: Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve

Circuit length: 4.361 km

Number of corners: 14 (6 left, 8 right)

DRS zones: 2

Race laps: 70

Race distance: 305.270 km

2014 tyre compounds: Soft, supersoft

Circuit lap record: 1m 13.622s - Rubens Barrichello (2004), Ferrari

First world championship Grand Prix: 1967, Mosport (won by Jack Brabham, Brabham)

First world championship Grand Prix in Montreal: 1978 (won by Gilles Villeneuve, Ferrari)

Number of races: 44 (34 - Montreal; 8 - Mosport; 2 - Mont-Tremblant)

Number of races with at least one safety car appearance: 7 of the last 13 races

Longest race in Montreal: 2011 (4h 4m 39.537s)

Shortest race in Montreal: 1997 (1h 17m 40.646s)

Last year’s pole position: 1m 25.425s, Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull

Last year’s podium: 1 - Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull), 2 - Fernando Alonso (Ferrari), 3 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

Most appearances (current field): 13 - Jenson Button; 11 - Fernando Alonso; 10 - Kimi Raikkonen, Felipe Massa; 7 - Nico Rosberg; 6 - Lewis Hamilton; 5 - Adrian Sutil, Sebastian Vettel

Most wins (driver): 7 - Michael Schumacher; 3 - Nelson Piquet, Lewis Hamilton; 2 - Jacky Ickx, Jackie Stewart, Alan Jones, Ayrton Senna; 1 - Jack Brabham, Denny Hulme, Peter Revson, James Hunt, Jody Scheckter, Emerson Fittipaldi, Gilles Villeneuve, Jacques Laffite, Rene Arnoux, Michele Alboreto, Nigel Mansell, Thierry Boutsen, Gerhard Berger, Alain Prost, Jean Alesi, Damon Hill, Mika Hakkinen, Ralf Schumacher, Fernando Alonso, Kimi Raikkonen, Robert Kubica, Jenson Button, Sebastian Vettel

Most wins (constructor): 13 - McLaren; 11 - Ferrari; 7 - Williams; 4 - Brabham; 2 - Tyrrell, Benetton; 1 - Wolf, Ligier, Renault, BMW Sauber, Red Bull

Most wins (engine manufacturer): 12 - Ford/Cosworth, 11 - Ferrari; 6 - Mercedes; 5 - Renault; 4 - Honda, BMW; 1- Repco, Matra

Most pole positions (driver): 6 - Michael Schumacher; 3 - Ayrton Senna, Nelson Piquet, Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel; 2 - Jackie Stewart, Alain Prost, Ralf Schumacher; 1- Jim Clark, Jochen Rindt, Jacky Ickx, Peter Revson, Ronnie Peterson, Emerson Fittipaldi, James Hunt, Mario Andretti, Jean-Pierre Jarier, Alan Jones, Didier Pironi, Rene Arnoux, Elio de Angelis, Nigel Mansell, Riccardo Patrese, Damon Hill, David Coulthard, Juan Pablo Montoya, Jenson Button, Fernando Alonso

Most pole positions (constructor): 11 - McLaren; 8 - Williams; 6 - Ferrari; 5 - Brabham, Lotus; 3 - Red Bull; 2 - Tyrrell, Benetton; 1 - BAR, Renault

Most pole positions (engine manufacturer): 14 - Ford/Cosworth; 9 - Renault; 6 - Ferrari, Honda; 4 - BMW, Mercedes, 1 - Repco

Number of wins from pole in Montreal: 15 wins from 34 races (44 percent)

Lowest winning grid position in Montreal: 10th (Jacques Laffite, Ligier, 1981)

Laps led (current field): 163 - Lewis Hamilton; 157 - Sebastian Vettel; 103 - Fernando Alonso; 27 - Kimi Raikkonen; 4 - Felipe Massa; 1 - Jenson Button, Romain Grosjean

Most podium places (current field): 4 - Lewis Hamilton; 3 - Jenson Button, Fernando Alonso; 2 - Kimi Raikkonen, Sebastian Vettel; 1- Romain Grosjean, Sergio Perez

Number of Canadians to have started at least one Grand Prix: 11

Number of victories for Canadian drivers in the Canadian Grand Prix: One (Gilles Villeneuve, 1978)

Fascinating fact: Ile Notre-Dame, the man-made island on which the Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve is situated, was the site of the 1967 World Fair and also home to the rowing events in the 1976 Olympic Games.

Percentage of 2014 season complete: 31 percent

Maximum number of world championship points still available to a single driver: 350

Significant running sequences going into this weekend: Mercedes - five consecutive one-two finishes, six consecutive wins, six consecutive podiums; Ferrari - 73 consecutive races in the points; Nico Rosberg - 15 consecutive races in the points and six consecutive podium finishes; Max Chilton - 25 consecutive classified finishes.

Turbo history: If a Renault-powered car wins Sunday’s race it will be the first Renault turbo victory since the 1986 Detroit Grand Prix. Similarly, if a Ferrari-powered car wins the race it’ll be the first Ferrari turbo win since the 1988 Italian Grand Prix. The last turbo-powered victory in Canada went to Ayrton Senna in the McLaren MP4-4 in 1988.