Latest News / Headline

FIA confirms 2016 calendar

02 Dec 2015

Formula One racing's governing body, the FIA, has formally ratified a 21-race calendar for the 2016 season, running from March to November.

A Meeting of the FIA's World Motor Sport Council in Paris on Wednesday confirmed a change in the F1 sporting regulations, increasing the maximum permitted number of races in a season from 20 to 21. The 2016 campaign will therefore feature more rounds than any other in F1 history, surpassing the previous benchmark of 20 from 2012.

The expanded calendar features one new race - in Baku, Azerbaijan on June 17-19 - and the return of a Grand Prix in Germany, with Hockenheim hosting the race. Australia will once again host the season opener, on March 18-20, while Abu Dhabi will stage the final round for a fifth time, on November 25-27.

The 2016 calendar also includes six back-to-back weekends - Canada and Baku, Austria and Great Britain, Hungary and Germany, Belgium and Italy, Malaysia and Japan, and the USA and Mexico will all be held on respective consecutive weekends. The USA’s slot remains provisional.

The 2016 FIA Formula One World Championship calendar in full:

March 20 - Australia
April 3 - Bahrain
April 17 - China
May 1 - Sochi
May 15 - Spain
May 29 - Monaco
June 12 - Canada
June 19 - Baku*
July 3 - Austria
July 10 - Great Britain
July 24 - Hungary
July 31 - Germany
August 28 - Belgium
September 4 - Italy
September 18 - Singapore
October 2 - Malaysia
October 9 - Japan
October 23 - USA**
October 30 - Mexico
November 13 - Brazil
November 27 - Abu Dhabi

*race start to be scheduled to avoid conflict with the conclusion of the 24 Hours of Le Mans
**subject to agreement with the promoter and the ASN

To book tickets for 2016 races, click here.