Latest News / Headline

Hamilton and Mercedes collect championship trophies

04 Dec 2015

He may have wrapped up his third drivers’ title back in October, but only on Friday evening did Lewis Hamilton get to lift the championship trophy once more, as he and his Mercedes team collected their silverware for 2015 at the FIA’s annual Prize Giving Gala in Paris.

Hamilton, the first Briton to take back-to-back driver crowns, won 10 of this year’s 19 Grands Prix, while team mate and title runner-up Nico Rosberg claimed six victories as Mercedes secured their second successive constructors’ title.

“It’s pretty much impossible to put into words what it means to be a three-time world champion,” said Hamilton.

“It is a dream, it’s an incredible feeling and I’m very proud of my family for everything they did to get me here today. I remember how hard my Dad and my Mum worked to make sacrifices for me. It’s been a long, long journey - I’ve been racing for 22 years.

“This year, winning the race in Austin and sealing the championship there was one of the most special races - there’s a huge sense of pride in what I have achieved.”

Sebastian Vettel was also in attendance at Friday’s star-studded ceremony, held at the famous Lido theatre on the Champs-Elysees, and picked up his trophy for finishing third in the 2015 championship. Vettel was the only non-Mercedes driver to win a Grand Prix this year, the German scoring three victories in his first season with Ferrari.

A number of special Formula One awards were also presented to those achieving excellence at the pinnacle of the sport. Broadcaster Canal Latin America was awarded the F1 Television Trophy, CIE was presented with the Best Promoter Award for the incredible Mexican Grand Prix event, and the FIA’s German ASN, DMSB, won the Bernie Ecclestone award thanks to German drivers having scored the most points of any nationality during this year’s world championship.

Meanwhile, the other big individual F1 winner of the night was Toro Rosso rookie Max Verstappen, who scooped no less than three prizes in other various other categories.