Latest News / Headline

Provisional grid for Italy after penalties

05 Sep 2015

Red Bull and Toro Rosso are set to occupy the final two rows of the grid in Monza after various penalties were applied for changing power unit components.

Toro Rosso’s Max Verstappen will start last after failing to record a time in Q1 – the first time he has failed to progress to Q2 in his career – and picking up a  20-place grid drop for changing two power unit components. He will also have to serve a drive-through penalty in the first three laps of the race after the stewards decided that his car had been released in an unsafe condition during qualifying. 

Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo will share the back row of the grid with the young Dutchman having collected a total of 50 grid-slot drops.

Ricciardo’s team mate Daniil Kvyat will start one place further forward having accrued a 35-place grid drop, whilst Carlos Sainz will start 17th in the second Toro Rosso after picking up an identical penalty.

McLaren’s Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso also picked up penalties for changing power unit elements and will start 15th and 16th respectively, while Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson drops from 10th to 12th after he was adjudged to have impeded Hulkenberg during qualifying.

In full, the provisional starting order will be: Hamilton, Raikkonen; Vettel, Rosberg; Massa, Bottas; Perez, Grosjean; Hulkenberg, Maldonado; Nasr, Ericsson; Stevens, Merhi; Button, Alonso; Sainz, Kvyat; Ricciardo and Verstappen.