Latest News / Headline

FIA publishes provisional calendar and rule tweaks for 2017


28 Sep 2016

Formula One racing’s governing body, the FIA, has released a provisional F1 calendar for next season following a meeting of its World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) in Paris on Wednesday, which also saw a number of other rule changes agreed for 2017.

Provisional calendar

26 March – Australia (Melbourne)
9 April – China (Shanghai)
16 April – Bahrain (Bahrain)
30 April – Russia (Sochi)
14 May – Spain (Barcelona)
28 May – Monaco (Monte Carlo)
11 June – Canada (Montreal)*
18 June – Azerbaijan (Baku)
2 July – Austria (Spielberg)
9 July – United Kingdom (Silverstone)
23 July – Hungary (Budapest)
30 July – Germany (Hockenheim)*
27 August – Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)
3 September – Italy (Monza)
17 September – Malaysia (Sepang)
1 October - Singapore (Singapore)
8 October – Japan (Suzuka)
22 October – USA (Austin)
5 November – Mexico (Mexico City)
12 November – Brazil (Sao Paulo)*
26 November – United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi)

*Subject to confirmation

Wet-weather standing starts

A new procedure regarding wet weather starts was accepted. From 2017, if a safety car is deemed to be required for the beginning of a race due to wet weather, a normal standing start will occur once the track is deemed safe to race. The process will see the safety car return to the pit lane and the cars assemble on the grid for the start.

Helmet livery rules eased

Drivers must continue to present their helmets in substantially the same livery at every event of the FIA Formula One World Championship for easy recognition of the driver in the car, however a driver will now be allowed one event (such as a home race) for a special livery (at the driver’s choice). Drivers will also be allowed to change their helmet liveries if changing teams during the season.

No more stockpiling power units

During any single event, if a driver introduces more than one of a power unit element that is subject to penalty, only the last element fitted may be used at subsequent events without further penalty. This is to prevent the stockpiling of spare power unit elements.

Fixed early-season tyre allocations

For the first five events of the 2017 Championship season only, the normal team selection procedure for tyres will not be used as the deadline occurs before pre-season testing. For these events the supplier will allocate two sets of the hardest compound specification, four sets of the medium compound specification and seven sets of the softest compound specification to each driver.

The WMSC also confirmed changes to Appendices 6 and 8 of the 2017 F1 Sporting Regulations which clarify outsourcing arrangements and conduct permitted regarding Listed Parts, Non-Listed Parts, wind tunnel testing and personnel transfer between teams engaged in a working or developmental relationship.