Full Team Name McLaren F1 Team
Base Woking, United Kingdom
Team Chief Zak Brown
Technical Chief Matt Morris
Chassis MCL33
Power Unit Renault
First Team Entry 1966
World Championships 8
Highest Race Finish 1 (x182)
Pole Positions 155
Fastest Laps 155

In profile

Since entering the sport in 1966 under the guidance and restless endeavour of eponymous founder Bruce, McLaren's success has been nothing short of breathtaking. Five glittering decades have yielded countless victories, pole positions and podiums, not to mention eight constructors' championships. What's more, some of the sport's greatest drivers made their names with the team, including Emerson Fittipaldi, Ayrton Senna, Mika Hakkinen and Lewis Hamilton...


A third disappointing season with Honda engines proves to be the final straw for the revived partnership, prompting a switch to Renault power for 2018. Just 30 points are scored by Fernando Alonso and Stoffel Vandoorne, despite a seemingly excellent chassis - one which helps Alonso to the fastest lap of the race in Hungary.


Second season back in partnership with Honda sees much improvement, though the team are still a long way off podium contention. Improve to sixth in the standings, with the bulk of their 76 points scored by Fernando Alonso, who takes them to their best results of fifth place in Monaco and Austin. Alonso misses one race through injury, allowing a top-ten debut for team protege Stoffel Vandoorne, who replaces Jenson Button for 2017.


The revived combination of McLaren and Honda finds the current generation of power unit a tough nut to crack, resulting in an abysmal season despite two former champions - Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso - at the wheel. Score just 27 points as they drop to ninth in the standings.

Read McLaren's full year-by-year profile