Full Team Name Mercedes AMG Petronas Motorsport
Base Brackley, United Kingdom
Team Chief Toto Wolff
Technical Chief James Allison
Chassis W09
Power Unit Mercedes
First Team Entry 1970
World Championships 4
Highest Race Finish 1 (x77)
Pole Positions 92
Fastest Laps 57

In profile

Mercedes' revival of their Formula 1 tradition through the creation of a works team for the 2010 championship was also the platform for a meteoric rise up the Grand Prix order. Already the team had generated huge excitement by securing the sensational return of Michael Schumacher, but headlines began to follow on track: three podiums came in their debut season, all via Nico Rosberg - who then claimed a breakthrough pole/victory double at China in 2012. The following season he would be paired with Lewis Hamilton, with the duo going on to stage some epic title battles as Mercedes swept all before them to become one of the most dominant forces of the modern F1 era...


See off a stern title challenge from Ferrari, as their W08 car proves – by their own admission – to be something of a ‘diva’. With old adversary Rosberg gone, Hamilton settles nicely into his role as the team’s de facto number one, leading them to a fourth successive championship double, as new partner Valtteri Bottas scores his first (three) race wins.


Mercedes' supremacy reaches new heights, as they win 19 of 21 rounds en route to a third title double in a row. This time, however, it's Rosberg who lifts the drivers' crown following a titanic season-long struggle with Hamilton, shortly after which he shocks the team - and the F1 world - by announcing his immediate retirement.


Hamilton leads Mercedes to a second successive championship double, the team once more emerging victorious in 16 of the year's 19 rounds, this time beating their own 2014 record with a stunning 12 one-two finishes.

Read Mercedes' full year-by-year profile