Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Epsilon the latest to join list of 2010 hopefuls 03 Jun 2009

Joan Villadelprat (ESP) Formula One World Championship, Rd 5, Spanish Grand Prix, Race Day, Barcelona, Spain, Sunday 10 May 2009. (L to R): Alex Wurz (AUT) with Martin Whitmarsh (GBR) McLaren Chief Executive Officer.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 6, Monaco Grand Prix, Qualifying Day, Monte-Carlo, Monaco, Saturday, 23 May 2009

Spain’s Epsilon Euskadi has become the latest team to confirm that it has lodged an entry for next year’s Formula One world championship. Epsilon is one of several newcomers hoping to feature on the line-up for 2010, details of which will be confirmed by the FIA next week.

Epsilon currently field teams in sportscar and junior single-seater formulae, but team boss Joan Villadelprat is a Formula One veteran of 25 years, with experience at McLaren and Ferrari amongst others. Engineering director Sergio Rinland is also well known to the sport, his last F1 post having been chief designer with Sauber.

The team, who already have extensive manufacturing facilities, have lodged their entry under the FIA’s budget cap option for 2010, and Villadelprat claims to have raised sufficient funding for the next four seasons, should Epsilon’s entry be accepted.

"We have the infrastructure, with an investment of €65 million, something that not everybody has,” he told Autosport. “We have a wind tunnel, autoclaves, etc. And right now I can say that, if we are chosen, we have the budget secured for the next four years."

Earlier this week ex-F1 racer Alexander Wurz revealed that he is also heading up a 2010 entry bid, with backing from investment company (and former Formula One sponsors) Superfund. Others to have confirmed lodging an entry include Prodrive and a US-based team led by F1 veterans Peter Windsor and Ken Anderson. The list of successful applicants will be published by the FIA on June 12.