Home - The Official Formula 1 Website Skip to content

Vettel and Red Bull receive Laureus nominations 12 Jan 2011

2010 Formula One world champion Sebastian Vettel, Yas Marina, Abu Dhabi Mark Webber (AUS) Red Bull Racing RB6.
Formula One World Championship, Rd 16, Japanese Grand Prix, Practice Day, Suzuka, Japan, Friday, 8 October 2010 Winner of the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year award Lewis Hamilton during the Laureus World Sports Awards at the Mariinsky Concert Hall on February 18, 2008 in St.Petersburg, Russia. © Getty Images for Laureus

Reigning Formula One world champions Sebastian Vettel and Red Bull Racing have both been nominated for the 2011 Laureus World Sports Awards, the winners of which will be announced early next month.

Vettel, who last season become the youngest title winner in F1 history, aged just 23, is up for the World Sportsman of the Year accolade. Also nominated are Spanish tennis star Rafael Nadal, Philippine’s boxer Manny Pacquiao, LA Lakers basketball player Kobe Bryant and Barcelona footballers Andres Iniesta and Lionel Messia.

Red Bull, who clinched the 2010 constructors’ championship in only their sixth season, are nominated in the World Team of the Year category, going up against Spain’s world cup-winning football squad, Champions League winners Inter Milan, golf’s European Ryder Cup team, NBA winners the Los Angeles Lakers and the New Zealand All Blacks rugby team.

Past Laureus winners from the F1 world include Michael Schumacher, Jenson Button, Lewis Hamilton, Brawn GP and Renault.

This year’s victors will be revealed in a televised awards ceremony in Abu Dhabi on February 7.

For Formula One and F1 team merchandise, target=_blank>click here.